brittle19... 5

brittle1906

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: I'm back after a break from reviewing........

Member since:05.03.2005

Reviews:522

Members who trust:99

Quote-start

Almost instant heat, plug in and off you go

Quote-end
09.04.2008 (03.12.2011)

Advantages:
Cheap to buy, efficient and easy to use and install .

Disadvantages:
No timer, electric heating is not the most cost effective

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Performance

Ease of use

Noise

Safety

Value for money

DurabilityLong

User's ManualFair

MaintenanceVery easy

How much did you pay?£19.99

Special features?None

30 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. tb240904
  2. angelboouk123
  3. Expired-Account
and 34 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Review updated December 2011.

TESCO VALUE MINI OIL FILLED RADIATOR

It seems rather fitting to be penning a review about a heater in early April with snow falling thick and fast outside!

This compact radiator is ideal for providing heat in small areas, as the name implies it is a small appliance. The radiator is white in colour,so would blend in with most colour schemes. It is very light and easy to move around, being freestanding, not wall mounted. It produces a remarkable amount of warmth for a compact heater and is neat in appearance. It is small enough to stow away in a cupboard when not in use. The maximum wattage is 700w. and it comes with a fitted plug as standard. It is a basic radiator and as such, does not have a timer function or any fancy programmes. There are two heat settings and an on/off light so you know the radiator is plugged in. There is an automatic thermostat to regulate heat output. The unit attains a decent level of heat very quickly, making this a quick way to warm a room. Being a metal construction, it does get rather hot to the touch, so I would advise caution where young children are concerned and careful consideration as to the siting of this appliance. That said, it is a sturdy construction and not easily knocked over, however, there is a safety cut out, should an accident of this nature occur.

I bought this mini radiator primarily to provide background heat on my narrow boat when we are moored in an area with shore power. The boat is over 30 ft in length by 7ft wide, the radiator keeps us snug and warm during the cool evenings when it is not cold enough to light our log burning stove. I have yet to run the radiator from my generator, but should I do so, I will update this review accordingly. In a more traditional domestic setting, the Tesco Value Mini Oil Filled radiator would make a good standby form of heating or a suitable heater for instant heat in a small room.

The radiator cost £19.99 from Tesco Extra, Northampton branch, in November 2007. It represents extremely good value for money and although electricity is not the most cost effective method of heating, for occasional use you cannot go far wrong with this radiator. It is not the most attractive item of electrical equipment, but not many radiators are!

I would recomment this product to anyone requiring a low maintenence, simple, no frills electric heater to simply plug in and get warm.

Main specs
Cost: £19.99
Construction:
Maximum Wattage: 700
Number of Heat Settings: 2
On / Off Light: Yes
Programmable: No
Timer: No Timer
Type: Freestanding Oil Radiator

Tesco contact details:
Tesco Stores Ltd
Cheshunt
EN8 9SL
www.tesco.com
Customer Careline (Freephone) 0800 505555 Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm
Telephone orderline 08456004411

Update

I originally wrote this review in April 2008, so over three years have passed and I felt it was time to update it!

The radiator is still going strong, it now lives in my conservatory at home, a fairly small room, measuring approx 14 feet in length by 7 feet in width. The radiator heats this room perfectly well in all but the very coldest weather. It provides a comfortable instant heat and we are still very pleased with it. For £19.99, this radiator has proved to be worth every penny, it still looks good, functions well and is as efficient as ever.

Last year (2010) the radiator came with us on a road trip in our camper van where we ran it very succesfully via generator. A brilliant buy and one I would heartily recommend to others.
Thanks for reading this updated review.

brittle1906 December 2011.
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

 

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Expired-Account 22.04.2008 09:13

This sounds pretty good, nice review

techno_man_37 09.04.2008 12:49

good review sounds good, i did have somthing like this and it was rubbish

JoePoirot 09.04.2008 10:26

This is just what I need, fed up of blowers that scorch your face but don't heat the room properly.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Product Information »

Product details

EAN 5051140118235
Manufacturer Tesco
Type Radiator
Construction Freestanding
Maximum Wattage 700
Number of Heat Settings 2
Thermostat with Thermostat
Timer without Timer
Programmable No
On / Off Light Yes

Show all Product Information

Review Ratings »

This review of Tesco Value MINI OIL Filled Radiator has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. tb240904
  2. angelboouk123
  3. Expired-Account

and 34 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Tesco OFR1K10

Tesco OFR1K10

Electric Heating - without Timer - with Thermostat

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Tesco Value FAN Heater FH11

Tesco Value FAN Heater FH11

Electric Heating - without Timer - with Thermostat

User reviews (8)

Buy Now

Tesco Value FAN Heater FH26

Tesco Value FAN Heater FH26

Electric Heating - without Timer - without Thermostat

User reviews (2)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Tesco Value MINI OIL Filled Radiator? Click here