The Antipope - Robert Rankin

Community images

The Antipope - Robert Rankin

Fiction - Science Fiction - ISBN: 055213841X

> Show product information

85% positive

5 reviews from the community

Review of "The Antipope - Robert Rankin"

published 10/04/2001 | ArmatigeShanks
Member since : 10/01/2001
Reviews : 48
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Super
Pro A great story, very funny.
Cons Feels a little dated, sometimes loses itself
not rated
Would you read it again?
Story
Characters
Readability
How does it compare to similar books?

"My Aunties Pipe"

This was the first Rankin book I ever read. Although brought to the author by a friend telling me about talking sprouts, I decided to start his books in chronological order. This as it turned out was the best way to start. Included is a fantastic story, which is very funny, well paced, a great to read in short bursts either on the tube or as a way to escape a rainy Sunday. Written in the early eighties, it shares some similarities with the Hitch Hikers Guide. His later books often reference each other and have a lot of running gags, that, unless your already in the know, can leave you feeling a little lost. Fans of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett should buy this instantly, a great intro for one of funniest writers around.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1336 times and was rated at
50% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • PieOPah published 05/07/2004
    Rankin is a great Author, all his books are funny, but what can you tell us about THIS book?
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : The Antipope - Robert Rankin

Manufacturer's product description

Fiction - Science Fiction - ISBN: 055213841X

Product Details

Type: Fiction

Genre: Science Fiction

Title: The Antipope

Author: Robert Rankin

ISBN: 055213841X

EAN: 9780552138413

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 24/09/2000