Review of "The BFG (2016) (DVD)"

published 09/02/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 976
Members who trust : 120
About me :
I just got in trouble for sticking a piece of paper with my name on the TV while watching a film!!!!!
Excellent
Pro A wonderful film for the whole family
Cons None
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"I is a nice and jumbly giant! I is the BFG!""

The BFG (2016) (DVD)

The BFG (2016) (DVD)

:-• The BFG -•-:

“Those who don't believe in magic will never find it." Roald Dahl

:-• DVD Review -•-:


“Never get out of the bed. Never go to the window. Never look behind the curtain.”

:-• Tagline -•-:

“The world is more giant than you can imagine.”
:-• Genre -•-:

• Adventure
• Family
• Fantasy

:-• Film-•-:

'The BFG' was a much heralded 2016 American live-action fantasy adventure film directed and co-produced by Steven Spielberg (This was Spielberg's 30th theatrical movie). The screenplay was written by Melissa Mathison and it was based on the 1982 novel of the same name by Roald Dahl. This marks the reunion of Spielberg and Melissa Mathison, following their collaboration on E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial in 1982. However, The BFG was Ms Mathison's final film as she died on November 4th - in the closing credits the film is is a dedication "FOR OUR MELISSA".

Dahl's book was dedicated to his own daughter Olivia, who died from encephalitis at the age of seven in 1962, twenty years before the book was first published in 1982; he also named the lead child character Sophie after his granddaughter (who is now actress and model Sophie Dahl.)

Film Details

Directed by Steven Spielberg
Produced by Steven Spielberg, Frank Marshall and Sam Mercer
Screenplay by Melissa Mathison
Based on The BFG by Roald Dahl
Music by John Williams
Cinematography Janusz Kamiński
Edited by Michael Kahn
Release date July 1, 2016
Running time 117 minutes
Country United States
Language English
:-• The Story -•-:

"I has told you. I is not eating people. Not I! I is a freaky giant! I is a nice and jumbly giant! I is the BFG!"

The film opens in 1983; in a London orphanage, 10-year-old Sophie was wide awake at ‘Witching Hour’, she just couldn’t sleep. When she saw a giant from the window she tried to hide, however, the giant snatched Sophie and took her to the distant Giant Country. The giant explained to the young girl that she must stay with him for the rest of her life because she had seen him. He told her that his job was catching dreams and the unlikely couple are soon friends Sophie calls her large friend the Big Friendly Giant or BFG.
The BFG turns out to be one of a bunch of giants – however he is not like them, he is a kind-hearted soul who is considered an outcast by his disgusting giant neighbours because, unlike them, he refuses to eat children. Speaking with a delightful language that could only have come from the pen (and mind) of Roald Dahl, he tells little Sophie, just why he's taken her, and why she must hide from the other giants, who love the taste of "human bean." Sophie tags along with the BFG as he catches and bottles dreams that he will then dish out to to sleeping children.

As the friendship between the BFG and Sophie grows, the young girl’s existence attracts the unwanted attention of Bloodbottler, Fleshlumpeater and the other hideous giants. These giants are eating more and more children every night, Sophie and the BFG must come up with a plan to stop them.
After travelling to London, the two friends must convince the Queen to help them get rid of all the murderous giants once and for all – but will they manage it?

:-• Cast -•-:

Mark Rylance as the BFG
Ruby Barnhill as Sophie
Penelope Wilton as Queen Elizabeth
Jemaine Clement as the Fleshlumpeater
Rebecca Hall as Mary, the Queen's maid
Rafe Spall as Mr. Tibbs, the Queen's butler.
Bill Hader as the Bloodbottler
Michael Adamthwaite as the Butcher Boy
Daniel Bacon as the Bonecruncher,
Chris Gibbs as the Gizzardgulper
Adam Godley as the Manhugger
Paul Moniz de Sa as the Meatdripper
Jonathan Holmes as the Childchewer
Ólafur Darri Ólafsson as the Maidmasher
Marilyn Norry as Mrs. Clonkers
Chris Shields, Matt Frewer, and Geoffrey Wade as the Queen's Generals
:-• My Opinion -•-:

This DVD was not a child’s Christmas present, it was mine off my 6-year-old granddaughter!!
I love all of Dahl’s children’s books and read them all to my son every night when he was small, I know the revolting rhymes by heart – I read them so often.
When Olivia was five I bought her the full set of Dahl’s books and last summer when she stayed it was the BFG that I read to her in chapters every night. She would hide at the scary bits (and of course there ARE scary bits – this is a Roald Dahl book) and she would laugh uncontrollably when they drank Frobscottle making them Whizzpop (fart)!! She went with her Mum my and Auntie to watch this film last year, and her mum said that she felt so guilty that she hadn’t taken me that she had to buy me the DVD!!

I did sit down to watch the DVD with a little trepidation, I love the book so much I was scared of being disappointed.

I wasn’t!!
So, was it much different to the 1989 animated film?
Well, both films are very faithful to Dahl’s story, both have oodles of charm and both make the most of the Whizzpops! The very big difference is the wonderful, warm, twinkling, funny and delightful gentle giant that Mark Rylance creates as the BFG; with just the tiniest of facial gesticulations he creates a whole wealth of emotion.
As this lanky, gangling creation gently carries little Sophie off into the clouds, I just knew that this as going to be a wonderful film!!
And it was, it was a captivating, excellent and extremely well produced film. The story wonderful (thank you Mr Dahl) and very true to the novel. Ok, as someone who knows that book inside out, I could be pedantic and say about the bits left out – but I am sure that the - infamously nit-picking Roald Dahl – would have enjoyed this adaptation.
The whole film is very colourful with some great live action, animations and CGI and some wonderful scenery. I personally thought that young Ruby Barnhill delivered a brilliant performance as Sophie. I have heard people say that she was ‘too posh’ and annoying but I found her true to the wise-beyond-her-years orphan character from the book, and the lovely relationship between her and her larger than life friend was brilliantly portrayed.

'The BFG' has some wonderfully memorable scenes which are almost lyrical at times, especially in the BFG's cave or during a visit to the Dream Tree, and John William’s score really brings out the drama and emotion in the film. As for the dialogue – there are so many wonderful phrases that will delight both children and adults! It is impossible not to giggle at the BFG's bungled phrases. It’s hard to think what are the films standout sequences but I think that for me these are in Buckingham Palace with the Queen (Played by Penelope Wilton), Mary, her Queen's maid (played by Rebecca Hall) and Mr. Tibbs, the Queen's butler (played by Rafe Spall) From breakfast to the “whizzpopper,”high tea it is hilarious..

Overall I would say that this film is a beautiful reformation of a wonderful and magical story. We were all engrossed into the story from the very beginning; there are some astounding visual effects and in credible acting – especially from Mark Rylance and Penelope Wilton as the Queen, and it is a film that can honestly be enjoyed by young and old alike.
I really do recommend that you watch this film.
:-• Is it ok to watch with little ones? -•-:

Firstly, let me say this is a LONG film; it is 2 hours long and so it might be prudent if watching with little ones to find a suitable spot half way through to stop the film and have an ‘intermission’.
Have a loo break, a cuppa, snacks etc. and then return fresh to watch the second half.

So, is it too scary?
It might be as well to tell very young children that the big giant is friendly – even though he might not seem like it at first. Naturally, from the start of the story there are tense moments as Sophie is taken by the giant but while these scares may be enough for the littlest audience members to keep their eyes firmly covered or tuck into your shoulder when the mean Giants nearly catch Sophie, but it won’t be for long. They will soon be mesmerised by the gentle giant and will watch in awe as he delivers dreams to sleeping children and they will love the Queen’s Corgis and they will laugh their heads off at the high tea.

I wondered if the ‘nasty’ giants might be a little too scary for youngsters, but while they are suitably horrid and grizzling to come from Roald Dahl they are SO stupid that the children find them funny rather than scary!!
One thing’s for sure – they’ll love the fart scenes!!

:-• Ratings -•-:

• Metacritic: 66% from 178 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes: 75% from 259 reviews
• IMDb:6.4/10 from 142,883 votes
:-• Critics -•-:

• The Guardian: "Mark Rylance makes Roald Dahl’s big softie completely believable in Steven Spielberg’s winning adaptation."

• Plugged In: "Steven Spielberg's adaptation of this children's classic is a delightful story contrasted with the spectre of a rather macabre fate."

• The Times: "Sad, powerful and thoughtful, this is no ordinary family blockbuster"

• Empire: "It’s left to the final act to deliver — and in the nick of time, it does."

• PopMatters: "Spielberg Delivers One of the Best Roald Dahl Adaptations With 'The BFG'"

:-• DVD -•-:

The plainly labelled white disc came in a plastic side-snapped keep case in an embossed cardboard slipover cover.

Video

I can imagine that this is wonderful on Blu Ray; however, the visual was still outstanding on DVD. The images were sharp, the colours were vibrant and there were loads of impressive special effects
Sound


The audio is mono and a little dull but there is no hissing or crackling.
Extras

• "Bringing The BFG to Life" (27:09)
This is a 'making-of' featurette in video diary form through the young actress.

• "The Big Friendly Giant and Me" (1:55)
This is a brief animated film about the BFG's friendship with the human bean he knew before Sophie.

• "Gobblefunk: The Wonderful Words of The BFG" (3:16)
Goes into some of the incredible Dahlesque language in the film

• "Giants 101" (4:57)
Footage of the giants and some remarks from the actors playing them.

"Melissa Mathison: A Tribute" (5:54)

• Screenwriter Melissa Mathison is celebrated for her final film, we see her as the long-time wife of Harrison Ford, and see her b birthday on set.

Price

As of 9/02/17) ‘The BFG’ can be purchased from Amazon from £7.74 new and from £6.79 used or watch ‘The BFG’ instantly from £3.49 with Amazon Instant Video
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
You can also rent the DVD from LOVEFiLM By Post
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Details

Format: PAL
Region: Region 2
Number of discs: 1
Classification: PG
Studio: Entertainment One
DVD Release Date: 21 Nov. 2016
Run Time: 117 minutes
ASIN: B01IF16UMC
:-• In Conclusion -•-:

What I cannot understand is that this film received a lot of bad reviews and, especially over the pond, was not a box office success!
For me this was the best family film I have seen in a long time – if not THE best film!! This is a film that, taken from a children’s book and with a PG certificate, is really aimed at the adults; and I had to watch it again with my husband, without the presence of Olivia piping in so that I could appreciate every spectacular moment of this funny, moving and magical film.
If you have a child who loves Dahl’s books – watch it.
If you have a child who has not yet had the pleasure of Dahl’s books – watch it.
If YOU loved Dahl’s books – watch it.
Just watch this film – you won’t be sorry!!

5/5

Film pictures from Google

Thanks for reading, I hope that you have found this review useful
•:¦:-•© Sellerleygirl February 2017 -•-:¦:•

Community evaluation

This review was read 293 times and was rated at
82% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • eve6kicksass published 10/03/2017
    E, need to get around to seeing this! :)
  • DodoRabbit published 19/02/2017
    E! I really loved this one too :)
  • euphie published 12/02/2017
    e :o)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "The BFG (2016) (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : The BFG (2016) (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Mark Rylance, Ruby Barnhill, Bill Hader, Penelope Wilton, Rebecca Hall

DVD Region: DVD

Director(s) (Last name, First name): Spielberg, Steven

Classification: Parental Guidance

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 5030305520526

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 07/02/2017