Review of "The Jungle Book (2016) (DVD)"

published 31/12/2016 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 976
Members who trust : 120
About me :
Excellent
Pro Incredible family film
Cons None
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Forget about your worries ---- it really is King of the Swingers"

£rd time Olivia has watched it!!

£rd time Olivia has watched it!!

•:*¨:¦:-• The Jungle Book -•-:¦:*:•

•:*¨:¦:-• Film Only Review -•-:¦:*:•


Despite her spending Christmas with me, last night I received a WhatsApp message from my 6-year old granddaughter:

"Downt tel my mumy is a spris can yoow cum and tAk my to yor haws for 5 nits"

(which translates as “Don’t tell my Mummy, it is a surprise. Can you come and take me to your house for 5 nights”!)

How can I resist? So, I have a little visitor again, and looking through the Children’s Section of Sky Cinema I found the new Jungle Book film, we watched it together.
I watched it with a little trepidation – could it compare to either Kipling’s wonderful book or the classic 1967 Disney animated film of the story?
This is a film only review as I watched it through Sky Cinema.

“Welcome to the jungle
We've got fun 'n' games
We got everything you want
Honey, we know the names”

The opening poem of ‘The Jungle Book’ by Rudyard Kipling

•:*¨:¦:-• Genre -•-:¦:*:•


• Adventure
• Drama
• Family
• Fantasy

•:*¨:¦:-• Tagline-•-:¦:*:•

The legend will never be the same
•:*¨:¦:-• Film-•-:¦:*:•

Based on a story from Rudyard Kipling’s 'The Jungle Book'; this 2016 American live-action/CGI film is produced by Walt Disney Pictures and by their 1967 animated film of the same name.
In the first Disney Jungle Book (1967), King Louie - was an orangutan and was created by Walt Disney, and not by Rudyard Kipling; in the new film, he is a Gigantopithecus, an ancestor of the orangutan. Because of this, Richard M. Sherman, who wrote the songs for the original Jungle Book, composed a new verse for "Wanna Be Like You" for Christopher Walken, where King Louie declares that he is a Gigantopithecus.

Directed by Jon Favreau
Produced by Jon Favreau and Brigham Taylor
Screenplay by Justin Marks
Based on The Jungle Boo by Rudyard Kipling
Narrated by Ben Kingsley
Music by John Debney
Cinematography Bill Pope
Edited by Mark Livolsi
Production Walt Disney Pictures and Fairview Entertainment
companies
Distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Release dates April 15, 2016
DVD release 22 Aug. 2016
Classification PG
Running time 105 minutes
Country United States
Language English
Budget $175 million
Box office $966.6 million
•:*¨:¦:-• Cast -•-:¦:*:•

Neel Sethi as Mowgli
Kendrick Reyes as infant Mowgli
Ritesh Rajan as Mowgli's father

VOICES

Bill Murray as Baloo
Ben Kingsley as Bagheera
Idris Elba as Shere Khan
Lupita Nyong'o as Raksha
Scarlett Johansson as Kaa
Giancarlo Esposito as Akela
Christopher Walken as King Louie
Garry Shandling as Ikki
Brighton Sharbino as Grey Brother
Jon Favreau as Fred
Sam Raimi as a giant squirrel
Russell Peters as Rocky, a rhinoceros
Madeleine Favreau as Raquel, a rhinoceros
Sara Arrington as a Nilgai Antelope

•:*¨:¦:-• The Story -•-:¦:*:•

. “This is the law of the jungle it's old and it's true as the sky
And the wolf that should keep it may prosper but the wolf who will break it must die.
For the strength of the pack is the wolf and the strength of the wolf is the pack.

I am sure that everyone is aware of the story of the Jungle Book, but here is a short summary.
Mowgli is a young man cub who was found in the jungle as a baby by the friendly black Panther - Bagheera (voiced by Ben Kingsley) Mowgli has been brought up by a pack of wolves, led by Akela (voiced by Giancarlo Esposito) and Mowgli quickly learns to live life among his wolf pack and all the animals that inhabit the jungle. But when the heinous, scar faced tiger Shere Khan (voiced by Idris Elba) threatens Mowgli's life, Bagheera offers to take Mowgli to a nearby man village where he will be safe from the tiger's anger. But along the way, Mowgli gets tangled up in a sequence of encounters with a cunning snake named Kaa (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) , a huge ruthless Gigantopithecus called King Louie (voiced by Christopher Walken) and a lazy bear called Baloo (voiced by Bill Murray )who teaches him the 'bear necessities' of life.

Will Mowgli make it through the jungle and avoid the jaws of the vicious Shere Khan?
•:*¨:¦:-• My Opinion -•-:¦:*:•


“Mowgli! they've given it a name! When was it we come to adopt man to this jungle?”


Kipling’s ‘The Jungle Book’ (actually, a collection of stories) and ‘The Just So Stories’ were favourite books of mine as a child, and with my involvement with scouting I was aware of ‘The Jungle Book’ as being what the ‘Wolf Cubs’ were based on. I also went to see the original Disney film at the cinema before I was married and since then the film has always been a family favourite with all my children and grandchildren.
Consequently, I sat down to watch this film with a little trepidation – it could never compare - could it??
I did not need to worry – this was wonderful – and as I type this review, Olivia is watching it for the third time!!

I would never have thought that it was necessary to do a remake of the Disney classic ‘Jungle Book; however, this film, combining CGI with a real-life boy, that dips into the original 1967 animated film for witticisms and fun and also Rudyard Kipling’s 1894 novel for the necessary darkness and adds awe-inspiring special effects was certainly worth making - and watching!!
Ten-year-old Neel Sethi stars as Mowgli, the boy raised by wolves, and does a fantastic job; he made the role feel so natural and was never upstaged by jungle full of amazing talking animals – in fact they enhanced his performance. The vocal cast is expertly matched with their jungle creatures; Lupita Nyong’o plays Raksha, the mother wolf who loves Mowgli as fiercely as her other cubs and she voices the role sympathetically and believably as she protects her man cub when Shere Khan plans to make him his lunch. Bagheera is voiced to faultlessness by Ben Kingsley as he helps to return Mowgli to his own kind.

With his Luther gone mad, east London accent, like Luther gone bad), Idris Elba is menacingly wonderful as the villain, Shere Khan – he reminded me a lot of Scar from ‘The Lion King’.

It is halfway through the film and you begin to think that the familiar songs are going to be missing, when in saunters Baloo, humming ‘The Bare Necessities’. Bill Murray nails the voice and personality of the lazy, and oh so mellow bear fantastically. And not to be out done we even get a good old oobie-do, as Christopher Walken is the ultimate king of the swingers; this time out he is a huge Gigantopithecus, and is a far more terrifying King Louie than the original. himself, giant ape Louie
Scarlett Johansson plays the bewitching giant python Kaa with a mesmerising purr

Of all the films with CGI effects, I have to say that this one is by far the best I have seen. Every single frame of this film is a total delight to watch, this is a real masterpiece.
The level of details in the creating of the animals is astounding. The VERY subtle stripes in Bagheera’s lush black coat are actually reflected in sunlight and Sheer Khan looks so real that you can almost feel his breath and the creators have also managed to make the animals reflect emotion through their body language as well as the away their lips move when they speak.
Completely shot in a studio, if you didn’t know you would think that it was shot on location in India; however, the beautiful surroundings are entirely CGI and they are dazzlingly brought to life in a seamless restoration.

I especially liked the fact that this adaption brings back some of the original aspects from Kipling’s book – in the wolf packs ‘Law of the Jungle “(although Baloo prefers songs to it) and calls it “propaganda” and the ‘Water Truce’.

There is also a new plot development regarding Akela and Shere Khan – and even a backstory for Mowgli which explains how he got his loincloth.

The original film was a far jollier affair - even the vultures sounded like The Beatles. However, this version is much darker, more realistic and aimed more at adults. The threat of death is never far away, be it form of Idris Elba’s sneaking and evil Shere Khan, Scarlett Johansson’s seductive and mesmerising snake, Kaa or Christopher Walken’s King Louie, who's snarled version of ‘I Wanna Be Like You’ is quite terrifying.

This film is wonderful to look at and has some catchy music but, it is also a much more adult and complex film than the original, and is also a lot more entertaining.
This is Disney’s best live-action adaptation yet.
•:*¨:¦:-• Critics-•-:¦:*:•

• The Guardian: "Jon Favreau brings lush CGI, dark shadows and big-beast stars to a rebooted Disney classic."

• The Telegraph: "Jon Favreau's beautiful CGI update of Disney's animated classic keeps the songs and the fun, and adds real emotional weight"

• Time Out: "Oobie-do… Disney's live-action remake of 'The Jungle Book' is a winner"

• The Evening Standard: "The jungle's got some new VIPs"

• Variety: "can't rival the woolly looseness of Disney's 1967 animated classic, of course, but it succeeds on its own so well that such comparisons are barely necessary."

•:*¨:¦:-• Ratings-•-:¦:*:•

• IMDb: .7.6/10 from 167,983 votes
• Metacritic: 77 from 459 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes: 94%, based on 268 reviews
•:*¨:¦:-• Soundtrack -•-:¦:*:•

I thought that the score was fantastic; I hadn’t expected the original songs to be in the film. ‘The Jungle book’ though, is synonymous with certain songs; ‘The Bare Necessities’ was the only song that was fully evocative of the original; Kaa’s song by Scarlet Johansson is pushed back to the end credits The others songs were either reworked or used as background music but where all recognizable.
Lovely catchy music for a great film.

• The Bare Necessities: Performed by Bill Murray and Neel Sethi
• I Wanna Be Like You (2016): Performed by Christopher Walken
• Trust in Me: Performed by Scarlett Johansson
• The Bare Necessities: Performed by Dr. John and The Nite Trippers
• Jungle Beat
•:*¨:¦:-• How to Watch It -•-:¦:*:•

As of 08/12/16 ‘The Jungle Book’ can be purchased from Amazon new from £7.90, used from £6.85, or £8.99 with Amazon Instant Video; it is also available to rent on DVD from LOVEFiLM By Post
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage.
‘The Jungle Book’ is also free to watch to subscribers to Netflix or Sky Cinema.

•:*¨:¦:-• In Conclusion -•-:¦:*:•

I really recommend that you watch this new adaption of an old classic.
It is a worthy adaptation of the classic animated film and (somewhat) of Kipling's stories. The acting from the young boy - Neel Sethi - is amazing, especially when you appreciate that he is playing a role solely by himself. I thought that all of the voice acting was perfect for each animal as well, and I loved that they had included the two most memorable songs from the film. It is well worth taking the time to watch this with family, and it will bring back memories of adults and children growing up.
Don’t take my word for it – watch it!!
This is a perfect film for all the family to watch together (although a few parts may be frightening to very little children)– it is a visual delight!!


Film Pictures from Google

Thanks for reading, I hope that you have found this review useful


:¦:-•© Sellerleygirl December 2016 -•:¦:

Community evaluation

This review was read 647 times and was rated at
90% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • DodoRabbit published 07/01/2017
    I loved this, saw it twice and thought it better the 2nd time around. One to see in 3D too! Great review :)
  • rolandrat123 published 05/01/2017
    vh
  • bettyboo47 published 03/01/2017
    what a naughty little imp Olivia is!!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : The Jungle Book (2016) (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Director(s): Jon Favreau

Actor(s): Scarlett Johansson, Christopher Walken, Lupita Nyong'o, Idris Elba

DVD Region: DVD

Classification: Parental Guidance

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 8717418482954

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 30/12/2016