TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain

Community images

TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain

Car Navigation System - Fixed Monitor - 4:3 Monitor - with Traffic Message Channel - 1-Point Touch, with Touchscreen - without Voice Control

> Show product information

89% positive

17 reviews from the community

Review of "TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain"

published 15/05/2007 | 1st2thebar
Member since : 11/05/2005
Reviews : 757
Members who trust : 327
About me :
''The Differend: Phrases in Dispute' -- Jean - Francois Lyotard; definitely a winter warmer.
Super
Pro reliability easy to use
Cons large software files
very helpful
Reliability
Ease of Use
Look & Feel
Durability & Robustness
Battery life

"TomTom is Number ONE"

**TomTom ONE V2 Regional** >>>AWARD WINNER

Community evaluation

This review was read 3184 times and was rated at
94% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • danielclark691 published 29/11/2016
    good work
  • bigbiz published 24/05/2007
    Excellent
  • docpov published 24/05/2007
    I have the 950, really pleased with it but i thinkits on the way out, keeps switching itdelf off as I am driving, most annoying especially if I am near a juntion.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain

Manufacturer's product description

Car Navigation System - Fixed Monitor - 4:3 Monitor - with Traffic Message Channel - 1-Point Touch, with Touchscreen - without Voice Control

Product Details

MPN: 1N00.160, 1N00.150, 1N00.140, 1N00.111, 1N00.115, 1N00.110, 149665

EAN: 0636926014168, 0636926014151, 6369260173744, 0636926017374, 0636926014144, 0636926017305, 0636926014106, 0636926017763, 0636926014090, 0636926017480

Manufacturer: TomTom

Screen Size in Inches: 3.5

Category: Portable Navigation Device, Portable Devices Dedicated For Navigation

Map Storage Medium: On Board Memory Card

Monitor Type: Fixed Monitor

Monitor Format: 4:3 Monitor

Touchscreen: 1-Point Touch, with Touchscreen

Traffic Message Channel: Traffic Info ready

MP3 Playback: No

DVD Player / Recorder: without DVD Player

CD Player / Recorder: without CD Player / Recorder

FM Tuner: No

TV-Tuner: No

Telephone Included: No

Voice Control: without Voice Control

Bluetooth: Yes

USB: No, Yes

Internet Connectivity: No

iPod Control: No

Map Provider: Teleatlas, Navteq, Others

Map Coverage: Single countries, Single continent

Map Sharing: No

3D Landmarks: No

3D Elevation Mode: No

Text-to-Speech: No

Reality View: No

Lane Assistant: No

Application: Car

Pedestrian Mode: No

Traffic Message Channel (TMC): with Traffic Message Channel

xD-Picture Card: No

TransFlash Card: No

Smart Media Card: No

Secure Digital Card: Yes

Multimedia Card: No

Memory Stick: No

Compact Flash Card: No

FM Transmitter: No

Hard Disk Capacity in GB: -2

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 20/11/2006

TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain - Review - TomTom is Number ONE

1st2theba... 4

1st2thebar

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: ''The Differend: Phrases in Dispute' -- Jean - Francois Lyotard; definitely a winter warmer.

Member since:11.05.2005

Reviews:757

Members who trust:327

Quote-start

TomTom is Number ONE

Quote-end
15.05.2007

Advantages:
reliability easy to use

Disadvantages:
large software files

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Reliability

Ease of Use

Look & Feel

Battery life

Value for Money

Durability & RobustnessStrong

Display sizeExcellent

37 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
exceptional by (6%):
  1. bigbiz
  2. Timbo3107
  3. Nathan_Innit
very helpful by (94%):
  1. danielclark691
  2. bmthkatie
  3. quan
and 48 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

**TomTom ONE V2 Regional** >>>AWARD WINNER<<<
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By being a gadgetty sort of person, I have been lured into the world of GPS well since the end of last year. The fact that this GPS system can save you time really appealed especially when good time management can make you lifestyle less stressful. It is very true that by having an effective GPS system in your car does all of above.

The TomTom ONE V2 Regional (UK) has been awarded in coolest brands log 2006-2007. Not a big surprise as the Christmas retail price was very well received at 199.99. Along with affordable pricing structure and a excellent selling product, this version is the most sought after Sat Nav system that is appealling and is efficient and graphically delightful. Personally, I will agree with Cool Brands UK decision.

The website link for the awards and product feature is below
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.tomtom.com/products/reviews.php?ID=233&Category=0&Lid=1

There are other versions of the TomTom Sat Nav systems pricing is dependant on your software usage, such as if you want to use it abroad, or want more features. The link above can help you make that vital leap. For me there is nothing like having an award winning item that is so consumer friendly. What I mean is what other product is award winning, can revolutionise the way you drive, make quick decisions, gives you piece of mind, trust, and does not complain. I have found it very difficult to actually see an equal at this point of time.

The Sat Nav revolution has arrived
-----------------------------------------------
The TomTom ONE V2 is the only brand worthy Sat Nav system that uses savvy technology with a slick and compact interface that deals with all your landmark requests, roadmaps,voice settings,easy navigation on the 3X3 inch monitor. It comes with car plugs and software accessories. If you said 2 years ago I would have this little bit of Sav Nav revolution in my car I would of laughed. "Mr T, telling me where to go.... your telling a porkie!! " Yeah, the software allows famous voices to tell you where to go. What happened to the good old compass... Dib Dib Dob Dob.

Speed Camera Warnings
-----------------------------------
The TomTom tells you when there is a speed camera coming up as well. The warning comes up on the monitor in a customary red flash that alerts you... it lets out an alert tone just in case the flashing does not warn you. TomTom tells you in very good time too, about 400 yards, just as if there is a junction ahead or if you need to make a right turn. The TomTom really does take away all the pain and strains of looking at a map and pulling neck muscles trying to see around buses at road signs. The most important thing about this Sat Nav system is to get an update every 3 months as unfortunately the cameras change locations and hide in bushes. That can be expensive.

Landmarks
----------------
All landmarks are included in within the GPS updates. It is like Google Earth though obviously the graphics are a little more colourful. I think it adds to the TomTom charm. The next stage is to improve the graphic content so that landmarks actually look like the landmarks themselves. Just so long the TomTom does not crash due to complex graphic data. Visually the night driving mode is very impressive, the monitor is not too bright and is eye friendly. This was one on my worries when buying this product. Have they catered for eye tiredness. I am pleased to say "yes", all angles have been covered.

Location to location.
---------------------------

We all have been in a road block... Well now you are warned.. TomTom alerts you if any hold-ups are ahead and will automatically re-direct you onto an alternative route. The problem is that if everyone else has a TomTom all routes could prove difficult. Having said that, it would not be as bad as it once would of been. You can re-select alternative routes manually. TomTom is a system that allows human intervention... Yeah.. us humans are in total control really... Remember who made you. TomTom is nothing like KIT the car from Knight rider. You will have to download a file till 2009 for a piece of that technology. No, I haven't got the link. When you reach your intended location the Sat Nav will reset itself.

The features
-----------------
TomTom is the most updated Sat Nav system on the market to date. It does include a mobile bluetooth feature that means you can send messages to it via your mobile... though I'm unaware what for exactly. TomTom has it all in hand, when locations are programmed it works very efficiently. I can see that maybe downloads could be useful via mobile phone but I feel for many of us that particular feature is wasted. What is great is the stopping distances... I didn't realise how it could work until trying out for the first time. It is not just a mandatory command, TomTom gauges the speed your travelling before any alerts are made.

Beware of the speed trap. I have found the TomTom speedometer is 5 MPH slower than the incar speedometer. I'm not sure that is a good thing or not, as it can get confusing. I try and take a means from the two speeds and hopefully I'm within a safe speed limit. Haven't had any problems so far, but it is worth a mention.

Price
-------
I do have an confession that I bought this item at a much lower cost than is advertised at retail. If, you are interested in this product, I'm happy to help. The retail price is now 179.99 and is worth every penny. Have a look at the other Sat Nav versions as the more expensive systems could serve you just as well. The reason why I bought this system was due to the incredibly good write-ups. I can truly understand why it is an award winner.

Hiccup
---------
The only slight hiccup that was not part of the package with TomTom was when trying to purchase the extra add-ons such as the speed camera facility. A fee of 20.00 is charged. I can see why it is charged, and it is up to you if you want to upgrade every 3 months. I think it is worth having, then again it determines how you drive:)

Customer service
------------------------
The jury is out on this, I have not complained as such yet, though I do believe they claim a 24 hour reply if you have any questions. This is good as most services similar to this it takes 72 hrs. They do not have a helpline. All communications is by email, while dealing with software download enquiries. The site can help with this as stated earlier.

Thank you for reading the TomTom ONE V2 review, if you have any questions I'm happy to help.

  Write your own review

Share this review on

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

danielclark691 29.11.2016 15:17

good work

bigbiz 24.05.2007 19:19

Excellent

docpov 24.05.2007 15:45

I have the 950, really pleased with it but i thinkits on the way out, keeps switching itdelf off as I am driving, most annoying especially if I am near a juntion.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Product details

MPN 1N00.160, 1N00.150, 1N00.140, 1N00.111, 1N00.115, 1N00.110, 149665
EAN 0636926014168, 0636926014151, 6369260173744, 0636926017374, 0636926014144, 0636926017305, 0636926014106, 0636926017763, 0636926014090, 0636926017480
Manufacturer TomTom
Screen Size in Inches 3.5 in
Category Portable Navigation Device, Portable Devices Dedicated For Navigation
Map Storage Medium On Board Memory Card
Monitor Type Fixed Monitor
Monitor Format 4:3 Monitor
Touchscreen 1-Point Touch, with Touchscreen
Traffic Message Channel Traffic Info ready

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain has been rated:

"exceptional" by (6%):

  1. bigbiz
  2. Timbo3107
  3. Nathan_Innit

"very helpful" by (94%):

  1. danielclark691
  2. bmthkatie
  3. quan

and 48 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

TomTom GO 5100

TomTom GO 5100

Car Navigation System - Fixed Monitor - Traffic Info ready

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 251.00

TomTom Start

TomTom Start

Car Navigation System - Fixed Monitor - 4:3 Monitor - 1-Point Touch - without Voice Control

User reviews (7)

Buy now for only £ 78.99

TomTom Rider

TomTom Rider

Car Navigation System - Fixed Monitor - 4:3 Monitor - without Traffic Message Channel - 1-Point Touch, with Touchscreen - without Voice Control

User reviews (6)

Buy now for only £ 152.71



Are you the manufacturer / provider of TomTom ONE V2 Regional Great Britain? Click here