Toshiba 28W93

Community images

Toshiba 28W93

Toshiba brings you technology that is sure to arouse the senses. Whether you are longing for your first HDTV or searching for your next DVD player Tos...

> Show product information

87% positive

6 reviews from the community

Review of "Toshiba 28W93"

published 07/04/2001 | millec199
Member since : 12/01/2001
Reviews : 44
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Excellent
Pro Cheap, good sound, great picture
Cons Slightly large
helpful

"The Best at the Price"

I have owned my Toshiba 28W93B for about 6 months now and I can truly say that it is the best for the price around.

It is the cheapest widescreen TV that Toshiba make but it still has all of the usual features a great picture and more importantly great sound.

The TV is in my households’ main living room and although quite a lot bigger than our old set it does not look too imposing. It is a standard black with a 28" 16:9 widescreen screen. The picture is sharp and it has all of the widescreen modes that you want (so you can fill the screen with a standard 4:3 picture or make a 2.35:1 picture appear with no borders).

What does stand this TV above the rest is it's sound. Quality and power are delivered with a very high output of 20W RMS per channel. Just to compare the standard Sanyo 28" widescreen has 12W MPO that works out at roughly 8W RMS per channel. I would have liked to go for the Dolby Pro-Logic version but my parents did not want rear speakers and anyway the room is not the right shape for a good pro-logic set up.

Overall this TV has impressed me greatly as it looks and sounds very good. If this is Toshibas cheapest widescreen I would like to see the quality of their more expensive ranges.

In response to comments,

The Toshiba has 2 scart connections with Scart 1 being RGB compatible as well as the standard RF in. It also has a set of front Composite Video inputs on the front for connection of a games console or a video camera. Unfortunately there is not S-Video in but that is not expected on a budget TV.

As price goes I picked this TV up cheap from www.intersaver.co.uk for just under £400 as I did not want a stand. This was the only place selling the TV without a stand and I also got a free Samsung DVD511 DVD player with it as well. This was a special offer that I think has ended now but it was a great deal. I don't know too many current prices but i have seen it for under £390 at www.empiredirect.co.uk.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1909 times and was rated at
69% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • fluffy-bubblegum published 07/04/2001
    We would have rated VH if you included a price. If you decide to add a price, drop us an email and we'll re-rate. Thanks.
  • cjkace published 07/04/2001
    Would have rated higher if you had said what connections it supports (scart, svhs, composite) and stated the price. Cheers Craig
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Toshiba 28W93

Manufacturer's product description

Toshiba brings you technology that is sure to arouse the senses. Whether you are longing for your first HDTV or searching for your next DVD player Toshiba offers a wide range of products that will be sure to tempt you. Innovation, advanced technology, and convenience are built into each Toshiba Color Television. This TV is equipped with Nicam stereo that delivers CD Quality Stereo sound to your TV. The 28W93B automatically tunes in all channels in the correct order on TVs and video recorders (BBC 1 on Channel 1 etc.) and suggests solutions to common problems, such as 'Check aerial is connected'. Fastext enables quick access to key TV text pages using the red, green, yellow, and blue buttons on the remote control. NTSC Video Playback enables NTSC tapes to be viewed when played back on NTSC video recorder. Off Timer lets the user program the television to turn itself off.

Product Details

Manufacturer: Toshiba

EAN: 5017151601456

HD ready: No

Picture Scan: Single Scan

Sound System: Stereo

Screen Size in Inches: 28

Screen Format: 16:9

Videotext/Teletext: with Videotext/Teletext

Screen Size in cm: 67

Frequency: 50 Hertz

Realflat: without Real Flat Screen

DVI Interface: No

HDMI Interface: No

Slim Tube: No

DVB-T: No

DVB-C: No

DVB-S: No

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 09/02/2001

Toshiba 28W93 - Review - The Best at the Price

millec199 5

millec199

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:12.01.2001

Reviews:44

Members who trust:1

Quote-start

The Best at the Price

Quote-end
07.04.2001

Advantages:
Cheap, good sound, great picture

Disadvantages:
Slightly large

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Picture Playback

Sound Quality

Ease of Use

Range of Features

Value for Money

Ease of Installation

Remote Control

Instructions

Durability

7 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (23%):
  1. aing69
  2. fluffy-bubblegum
  3. bazza1603
helpful by (69%):
  1. Jamesath
  2. monsieur.Joda
  3. geo212
and 6 other members
somewhat helpful by (8%):
  1. cjkace

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

I have owned my Toshiba 28W93B for about 6 months now and I can truly say that it is the best for the price around.

It is the cheapest widescreen TV that Toshiba make but it still has all of the usual features a great picture and more importantly great sound.

The TV is in my households’ main living room and although quite a lot bigger than our old set it does not look too imposing. It is a standard black with a 28" 16:9 widescreen screen. The picture is sharp and it has all of the widescreen modes that you want (so you can fill the screen with a standard 4:3 picture or make a 2.35:1 picture appear with no borders).

What does stand this TV above the rest is it's sound. Quality and power are delivered with a very high output of 20W RMS per channel. Just to compare the standard Sanyo 28" widescreen has 12W MPO that works out at roughly 8W RMS per channel. I would have liked to go for the Dolby Pro-Logic version but my parents did not want rear speakers and anyway the room is not the right shape for a good pro-logic set up.

Overall this TV has impressed me greatly as it looks and sounds very good. If this is Toshibas cheapest widescreen I would like to see the quality of their more expensive ranges.

In response to comments,

The Toshiba has 2 scart connections with Scart 1 being RGB compatible as well as the standard RF in. It also has a set of front Composite Video inputs on the front for connection of a games console or a video camera. Unfortunately there is not S-Video in but that is not expected on a budget TV.

As price goes I picked this TV up cheap from www.intersaver.co.uk for just under 400 as I did not want a stand. This was the only place selling the TV without a stand and I also got a free Samsung DVD511 DVD player with it as well. This was a special offer that I think has ended now but it was a great deal. I don't know too many current prices but i have seen it for under 390 at www.empiredirect.co.uk.
  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

fluffy-bubblegum 07.04.2001 20:46

We would have rated VH if you included a price. If you decide to add a price, drop us an email and we'll re-rate. Thanks.

cjkace 07.04.2001 20:34

Would have rated higher if you had said what connections it supports (scart, svhs, composite) and stated the price. Cheers Craig

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Toshiba brings you technology that is sure to arouse the senses. Whether you are longing for your first HDTV or sea...

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Toshiba 28W93 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (23%):

  1. aing69
  2. fluffy-bubblegum
  3. bazza1603

"helpful" by (69%):

  1. Jamesath
  2. monsieur.Joda
  3. geo212

and 6 other members

"somewhat helpful" by (8%):

  1. cjkace

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Toshiba 1450RB

Toshiba 1450RB

4:3 - 14 in - 50 Hertz - Mono - without Real Flat Screen

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 52.20

Toshiba 28N03B

Toshiba 28N03B

4:3 - 28 in - 50 Hertz - Stereo - without Real Flat Screen

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Toshiba 32W3453 32-inch Widescreen HD Ready Smart LED TV with Freeview HD

Toshiba 32W3453 32-inch Widescreen HD Ready Smart LED TV with Freeview HD

(+) Quality, value for money and tailored to suit your own personal preferences
(-) Cannot think of any except that it takes a while to get used to all the features & apps

User reviews (2)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Toshiba 28W93? Click here