Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean

Community images

Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean

Definitions for a potpourri of colorful and fascinating words are offered in this collection that has been updated to include two new essays, more tha...

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean"

published 14/08/2007 | Martinscholes
Member since : 06/12/2003
Reviews : 369
Members who trust : 56
About me :
Excellent
Pro Great book
Cons None to speak of
helpful
Degree of Information
How easy was it to read / get information from
How interesting was the book?
How useful was it?
Would you read it again?

"Weird & Wonderful Words, or I'm feeling wabbit!"

Totally Weird and Wonderful Words is a book compiled and edited by Erin McKean, with rather splendid illustrations by Roz Chast and Danny Shanahan.

The book is published in paperback by the OUP at $14.95. (That's about £8.00) Why the OUP chose to put only the Dollar price on the cover is anyone's guess. As is the decision by the OUP to employ American English spelling in their books, but please do not get me started on THAT one!

As you would expect, the book is a mixture of odd, bizarre and entertaining words.

Is it a draffsack of odd and old words?

Or a logomachy, perhaps?

Read this book and you will discover words that you probably never even had the vaguest idea even existed.

Learn that a loon-slatt was a Scottish coin, that a lolling-lobby was a derisive term for a monk, that a gallinipper is a large mosquito, that dromaeogathous means having the palate of an emu, that dretch means to trouble in sleep, or to be troubled in sleep.

If someone has a fear of the dark it could be said that they are suffering from nyctophobia.

The book is a lot of fun and should while away the time should you be feeling somewhat wabbit.

Draffsack = a bag of garbage

Logomachy = fighting about words

wabbit = A Scottish word meaning exhausted or slightly unwell.

Community evaluation

This review was read 866 times and was rated at
59% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • FORCE6 published 09/11/2010
    Why is this only helpful? I rate on quality not quantity - VH!
  • missy0303 published 26/08/2007
    And here's me thinking a wabbit was something elmer fudd chased during hunting season! Interesting book x
  • anonymili published 17/08/2007
    OOh don't get ME started on American English either! Drives me nuts! Sounds like a crazy but fun book! x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean

Manufacturer's product description

Definitions for a potpourri of colorful and fascinating words are offered in this collection that has been updated to include two new essays, more than 150 new words, and full-page cartoon illustrations by Roz Chast and Danny Shanahan.

Product Details

Type: Non-Fiction

Genre: Reference

Title: Totally Weird and Wonderful Words

Author: Erin McKean

ISBN: 195312120

EAN: 9780195312126

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 27/07/2007

Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean - Review - Weird & Wonderful Words, or I'm feeling wabbit!
Home > Books > Non-fiction > Reference Books > Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean > Reviews

Martinsch... 5

Martinscholes

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:06.12.2003

Reviews:370

Members who trust:56

Quote-start

Weird & Wonderful Words, or I'm feeling wabbit!

Quote-end
14.08.2007 (08.11.2010)

Advantages:
Great book

Disadvantages:
None to speak of

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Degree of Information

How interesting was the book?

How useful was it?

Would you read it again?

Value for money

How easy was it to read / get information fromVery easy

23 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (35%):
  1. FORCE6
  2. xxfoxyredxx
  3. patriciat
and 9 other members
helpful by (59%):
  1. Essexgirl2006
  2. Soho_Black
  3. gizmogizmo
and 17 other members
somewhat helpful by (6%):
  1. bmthkatie
  2. nathaninnit

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

Totally Weird and Wonderful Words is a book compiled and edited by Erin McKean, with rather splendid illustrations by Roz Chast and Danny Shanahan.

The book is published in paperback by the OUP at $14.95. (That's about 8.00) Why the OUP chose to put only the Dollar price on the cover is anyone's guess. As is the decision by the OUP to employ American English spelling in their books, but please do not get me started on THAT one!

As you would expect, the book is a mixture of odd, bizarre and entertaining words.

Is it a draffsack of odd and old words?

Or a logomachy, perhaps?

Read this book and you will discover words that you probably never even had the vaguest idea even existed.

Learn that a loon-slatt was a Scottish coin, that a lolling-lobby was a derisive term for a monk, that a gallinipper is a large mosquito, that dromaeogathous means having the palate of an emu, that dretch means to trouble in sleep, or to be troubled in sleep.

If someone has a fear of the dark it could be said that they are suffering from nyctophobia.

The book is a lot of fun and should while away the time should you be feeling somewhat wabbit.

Draffsack = a bag of garbage

Logomachy = fighting about words

wabbit = A Scottish word meaning exhausted or slightly unwell.
  Write your own review

Share this review on

 

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

FORCE6 09.11.2010 14:59

Why is this only helpful? I rate on quality not quantity - VH!

missy0303 26.08.2007 11:02

And here's me thinking a wabbit was something elmer fudd chased during hunting season! Interesting book x

anonymili 17.08.2007 10:36

OOh don't get ME started on American English either! Drives me nuts! Sounds like a crazy but fun book! x

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Definitions for a potpourri of colorful and fascinating words are offered in this collection that has been updated ...

Product details

Type Non-Fiction
Genre Reference
Title Totally Weird and Wonderful Words

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 27/07/2007

Show all Product Information

Review Ratings

This review of Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean has been rated:

"very helpful" by (35%):

  1. FORCE6
  2. xxfoxyredxx
  3. patriciat

and 9 other members

"somewhat helpful" by (6%):

  1. bmthkatie
  2. nathaninnit

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Totally Weird and Wonderful Words - Erin McKean? Click here