Ultimate Collection - Matt Redman

Community images

Ultimate Collection - Matt Redman

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Christian - Label: Survivor Records - Distributor: AMD/Universal Music - Released: 26/04/2010 - 5019282518429

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Ultimate Collection - Matt Redman"

published 02/07/2017 | ravingreviewer
Member since : 28/03/2014
Reviews : 327
Members who trust : 59
About me :
And now the long haul to Gold is on!
Good
Pro Some earlier good stuff.
Cons Some not quite so good later stuff.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Sing your heart out?"

Matt Redman is a Christian singer songwriter, who originally started to help lead worship at St Andrews Chorleywood where he was a member of the youth group. The youth leader here was Mike Pilavachi, who then moved to Watford to start up Soul Survivor which was predominantly a youth church – the reason behind the move to start this came about when the annual Bible events that were held in Somerset overseen by St Andrews had an increasing number of young people attending, thus a youth event was held at separate times over the summer which then led on to the church being set up (although it is now not just solely for the exclusive use of young people but seems to be expanding a little bit more although a great deal of emphasis is still placed on the younger aspect of the people who attend).

But as a result of this, Matt Redman became an ever increasing presence within the organisation resulting in becoming the Worship Leader – thus writing or co-writing a number of Christian worship songs, resulting in some eleven studio albums (with one being rereleased under a different name in the United States); three live albums of his own (not counting those that were recorded at Soul Survivor youth events), and two compilation albums – one of which is the subject matter of this particular review.

And in between all of this Matt Redman has also found the time to get married and have five children; authored a number of books; recording a charity single to raise awareness of the anti human trafficking campaign, and moved to Brighton to Atlanta and back to Brighton again (all of which involved Worship Leader roles in all the different churches of which he and his wife have been a part of).

However, we shall now return to the subject matter at hand – that being Matt Redman: Ultimate Collection. It is a collection of some of his more popular songs, and all of the songs have been taken from various different albums of his. The track listing below shows the songs that are on this album, along with who wrote them and the album in which they were originally recorded on and how the track lasts for:


1. You Never Let Go - a song that reminds us no matter what happens in life and how far away we may feel from God, He still keeps us close to Him.

2. Blessed Be Your Name - a song that says that no matter what happens in life that is good or bad, we are still to praise the name of Jesus.

3. Once Again - a song that reminds us what Jesus did for us, and to remind us to keep on coming back to Him.

4. Nothing But the Blood - a song that reminds us that it is the blood of Jesus that saves us, and nothing else.

5. Dancing Generation - a song of praise, that reminds us what God has done for us.

6. Shine - a song that reminds us that as children of God, we shine out in the darkness amongst everyone else.

7. The Heart of Worship - a song that reminds us that it is all about Jesus, and nothing else should matter.

8. Facedown - a song to remind us that when we are in the presence of Jesus, we must bow down on our faces in awe of Him.

9. Let Everything That Has Breath - a song of praise, calling everything that has breath in it to praise God.

10. Lord Let Your Glory Fall - a song to remind us that God's presence is here today the same as it always has been, and how we should react to it.

11. I Will Offer Up My Life - a song to remind that we are to offer up our lives to Jesus, as is expected of us.

12. Better Is One Day - a song to remind us that just one day in the presence of God is so much better than even our best of times on this earth, even one thousand good years here.

13. The Father's Song - a song to remind us that even though God is greater than the whole universe He still knows us and loves us as a father would, and takes great delight in singing over us.

14. Yes and Amen - a song to remind us that, whatever God asks of us we are to say yes and amen to.

I personally found that may of his earlier offerings are more down to earth that some of his later ones, namely tracks 2; 3; 7, and 11 - these were all late 1990's to mid 2000's roughly, and from this time on he seemed to try and become more 'rocky' in an attempt to try and fit in with what the youth of today apparently wanted. However what he doesn't quite seem to realise is that even today, there are many churches that have not quite caught up with this notion yet - and many churches that have a wide variety of ages all sing his songs, therefore there are going to be many older people singing them who may not necessarily like his more modern sounds.

And it has to be said that even me at the grand old age of 34 with quite a wide taste in music and open to most things, I feel that he has not really done himself justice in this way as his more simplistic style of writing and leading worship seem to have changed almost too much. OK I do understand however that as this is a compilation album of songs from down the years rather than an album released at any one particular time in response to a need or a request, and so therefore it has to take in to account a wide time span.

But if you are like me and only really enjoy listening to his older offerings and find that these speak to you better than those more up to date ones, then I would strongly recommend that you stick to the older ones and not buy this one. It is normally priced at around the £12.99 mark from most High Street shops, but can be up to £7 or more cheaper online and so if you wish to buy it then I would suggest that you look around for it.

Thanks for reading!

Community evaluation

This review was read 74 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • IzzyS published 15/07/2017
    Good review.
  • anonymili published 09/07/2017
    VH
  • Chippytarka published 08/07/2017
    Nicely reviewedx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Ultimate Collection - Matt Redman

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Christian - Label: Survivor Records - Distributor: AMD/Universal Music - Released: 26/04/2010 - 5019282518429

Product Details

EAN: 5019282518429

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011