Maarcis23 4

Maarcis23

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:30.10.2010

Reviews:1

Quote-start

VW Polo 2000, 1.4MPI, 8V

Quote-end
30.10.2010 (20.11.2010)

Advantages:
Economical car, great for students, Low budget car

Disadvantages:
Costs to repair

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

5 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
helpful by (83%):
  1. kevin121
  2. TheHairyGodmother
  3. Novabug
and 2 other members
somewhat helpful by (17%):
  1. sandemp

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Bought Volkswagen Polo this year at middle of June 2010. I was looking for a low budget car with manual gearbox and gasoline, so somehow my eyes caught up this VW Polo. I am very satisfied with this car since day of buying, it is comfortable even for 4 people in it. Yesterday we were 5 people in a car; I have to admit that on a backseat for 3 people it is a bit too small, if there was a longer distance, I should have made some short stops for my squeezed passengers. Have driven so far about 5000km and everything works great. I bought this car from local private seller Ilgonis Grunte. As I have seen on Internet, he has been selling cars for some time to people, mainly small type cars. Ofcourse, he didn't tell about some repairs, which will be done, that I think was major to tell. My mistake was to ignore "Check Engine" light when I took a test drive. This car was used, and there were needed some repairs, which has taken some money spending from me.
1. I had to change a new ECU, because the old one was with a defect;
2. Also I changed a catalytic converter, because car started to run rougher, and to start driving I needed to put more gas on;
3.Some small switches also I had to change, like brake light switch, emergency switch.
Since I really want to give only best stuff for this car, I am only going to official local dealer, which is taking care of those repairs, and I trust him, ofcourse he is not the cheapest one.
Despite costs has been high for these things, car finally works perfectly great. Since most I am using it in the city Riga, I am very satisfied, because it is quite economical in fuel consumption (about 6-8L/100km in city, and 4-5L/100km out of city) and parking also is easy, because this car don't use a big space. On high speed roads car is very stable, and goes smoothly, when I need to make a sharp turn, then I feel car goes hard on it.
1,4 MPI 8V engine doesn't give a fast start on driving, but for me currently it is ok. Since I am student, I don't need yet so powerful car. Engine works nice, and everything else is in good condition. Interior is how to say, very basic. It reminds me Škoda Fabia - year 2006.
In VW Polo I like that there is AC, fog lights, simple front panel, I like it's design. Every knob or button is easy to reach, and there is a good road view from the driver's seat, when I need to make a turn to left or right, I can see very good other cars on the road and situation by itself. In summer air conditioner was cooling good, and there was no sweating. Now, when winter is starting, car starts good and all windscreen is warmed up fast - in 5 min approx. If outside it is under 0 of celsium.
So in overall if there wouldn't be previously mentioned expenses to change parts on a car - I would give this car 9 out of 10 mark, but with these costs my rating is 7 (car is comfortable and economical on fuel consumption). This car is for young driver's with a bit of cash to splash because for it you pay cheap tax and it is cheap to run. Highly recommend, but don't pay too much for it.
And about exterior design. If I leave my car at a car parking spot and go to some party, if someone asks me how I arrived - I say with Polo, then 88% asks - the silver one? :) Yeah, it looks good, and it is noticeable. This car is simple and genius to a owner.

Pictures of Volkswagen Polo 1.4
Volkswagen Polo 1.4 Iphone 295 - Volkswagen Polo 1.4
Volkswagen Polo 1.4
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Maarcis23 30.10.2010 12:22

@FORCE6 - I see, what car do you have? :)

FORCE6 30.10.2010 12:11

Ive allways liked the alloys on this. =D

dynamicnurse 30.10.2010 12:08

Welcome to Ciao!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Volkswagen Polo 1.4 »

1 to 3 out of 209 similar offers for Volkswagen Polo 1.4 Show all similar offers
First Line Clutch Cable - Volkswagen POLO Mk1 1.1 76>81

First Line Clutch Cable - Volkswagen POLO Mk1 1.1 76>81

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

First Line Clutch Cable - Volkswagen POLO Mk1 1.0 86>91

First Line Clutch Cable - Volkswagen POLO Mk1 1.0 86>91

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Volkswagen present the Polo 1.4 S 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed - (Auto), Front (FWD) running on Unl...

Product details

Body Type Hatchback, Saloon
Fuel Type Petrol
Available Trims Match; S; Sport, Match; SE, Sport; SE

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 07/07/2000

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Volkswagen Polo 1.4 has been rated:

"somewhat helpful" by (17%):

  1. sandemp

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1422 cc - Max Speed: 99, 102, 108 mph - 70, 80 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: Sport, SE, S, Match, E

User reviews (11)

Buy Now

Volkswagen Polo 1.2

Volkswagen Polo 1.2

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1198, 1197 cc - Max Speed: 95, 101 mph - 55, 105, 64 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: SEL, SE, S, Match, E

User reviews (10)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Volkswagen Polo 1.4? Click here