Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v

Community images

Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v

Vauxhall present the Astra 1.6 16v Club 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed Easytronic - (Auto), Front (FWD) running on Unleaded Petrol

> Show product information

86% positive

49 reviews from the community

Review of "Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v"

published 06/04/2010 | Boinng
Member since : 12/03/2004
Reviews : 5
Members who trust : 2
About me :
Super
Pro Cheap to buy used, economic to run, good quality and decent build, very practical
Cons Bland, not very sexy
very helpful
Value for Money
Road Handling
Comfort
Features
Fuel consumption

"Mk4 Astra 1.6 8v Club - a great car for the family on a budget"

After mixed fortunes with some smaller three-door cars (including a SHOCKINGLY unreliable Volkswagen Polo) we decided it was time for a more "grown up" car last September, as we were planning for a family - the first addition to which is now due in July..

Reliability and practicality were the prime considerations - obviously the newer the better - but we were also on a budget, with no more than £2-3k to spend. This naturally ruled out a lot of cars, but one that kept coming back up was the boring old Vauxhall Astra - specifically the Mk4 (or "G") version. This was the second best selling car in the UK back in its day (its day being between 1998 and 2004), but as it was up against the much more modern looking Ford Focus, and as there are millions of them on the road, it hasn't held its value on the second-hand market very well at all. Good news for us!

Once we had a used Astra in mind, we had plenty of cars to choose from. In the end we paid £2,695 for a six year old, 53 plate Astra Club, with the 1.6, 8 valve engine, and 56,000 miles on the clock. It was (and still is) in very nice condition, and had a full service history.

There are a few different engines and trims to choose from in the Astra range - we went for one with the 8v engine as they're cheap to insure, and less desirable - and therefore cheaper to buy - than the 16v version to be found in sportier cars like the 1.6 SXi. As long as you get a late model 8v, it's still a good strong engine which has no problems pulling the car, it just lacks a little of the punch of the 16v. Be wary if the car you're looking at is a few years older though - apparently the first generation of 1.6 8v engines in these cars was significantly weedier.

From the outside it's a pleasant enough looking car - there are so many of these on the road you barely notice it, but it's quite nicely styled and better looking than a lot of the cheaper alternatives. Driving one of these you'll never stand out from the crowd, but it doesn't say anything terrible about you either - you're just a sensible, economic motorist in a practical mainstream car. For me it's the best size for a car - bigger and much more practical than the average "small" car, but nothing like as big or unwieldy as the next size up - this car is very much the happy medium all over.

Inside, it's spacious and comfortable-but-bland - our "Club" model has grey velour upholstery, headrests on four seats, a six-speaker CD stereo, and very good air-con. It can seat five quite happily, and has a very ample boot, which has proven itself invaluable many times already. The fit and finish of everything is very good - it's well bolted together, and tough enough for some harsh treatment. With Club spec the front windows are electric, but with manual in the rear (where they're rarely used). As a passenger the ride is nice and smooth, but if there's a complaint to be made it's road noise - it's a bit more noticeable than it might have been.

The drivers seat is comfy and has all the adjustments you'd expect including height, steering wheel rake etc. The controls are all where they should be and generally have a solid, no-nonsense feel to them, and the dashboard is very clean and clear all round. There's a neat "heads-up" information display at the top of the centre console, linked into the RDS radio, so you get station name, time, outside temperature etc all in one place. Visibility to the rear is a little restricted, as it is on all recent cars, but fine generally. The one dissapointment in the cabin for me is that the side mirrors are manual - no electric remote control or heating in winter - but they're easy enough to adjust nonetheless. The "Club" has remote central locking and an immobiliser but no alarm - fine by me as I doubt they do much good! The Astra's not exactly top of any car thieve's wish list anyway.

Driving the Astra is easy - very easy - just point it where you want to go and that's about it. Gear changes are smooth (although the box was a little notchy when we first got it, this improved a lot after a few drives), the weight of the power-assisted steering is just right, road holding is very good, and the 1.6 8v engine in our Club is just right to my mind - powerful enough to cruise on the motorway or overtake with reasonable ease, but quite refined and quiet with it - it's no racing car, but it never feels like it's straining either. On paper it'll do 112mph, but I haven't felt inclined to try it!

For me this car is all about practicality, and that extends to the little things - it's easy to maintain yourself, and unlike some cars you won't be expected to go to the dealer just to get a bulb changed. Build quality is really very good throughout, and it's nice to know these cars were all built here in the UK, at Ellesmere Port.

I'm a bit obsessive about measuring fuel consumption with any new car - it's a good indicator of how a car is behaving generally - and our Astra has been doing about 39mph consistently, month after month (including through the harsh winter months), which is what Vauxhall say it should do. Road tax (by emissions) is band H, so £180 per year, and it's a lowly insurance group 4. There are cheaper cars to run, but for its size and performance it's quite frugal overall.

In five months we've done 6,000 miles so far - the clock's now over 62,000 miles - and aside from a scheduled cam-belt change and a service, the Astra's needed nothing else - touch wood, it just keeps going, which in itself is a marked improvement on some of our previous cars! The best thing is I know even when the inevitable does happen, Vauxhall parts are a lot cheaper and easier to get hold of then many other makes, and pretty much any old garage can do the work.

Community evaluation

This review was read 7960 times and was rated at
80% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • werewolf published 17/01/2014
    very informative and helpful. I own a Vauxhall Astra and this was very useful to me. Yvonne
  • MEL0611 published 06/04/2010
    Great review x
  • Boinng published 06/04/2010
    @ Shellshocker - I'm going to take that as a compliment!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v

Manufacturer's product description

Vauxhall present the Astra 1.6 16v Club 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed Easytronic - (Auto), Front (FWD) running on Unleaded Petrol

Product Details

Manufacturer: Vauxhall

Boot Capacity (litres): 1265, 1270

Weight: 1213, 1190, 1235, 1233, 1222, 1245

Length: 4249, 4288

Width: 1753

Height: 1467, 1415

Towing Limit (kg): 1200

Engine Size (cc): 1598

Insurance Group: 6, 5

Driven Wheels: Front (FWD)

Torque: 110@3900 lb/ft

Release Date: 01.01.2005

Fuel Capacity (litres): 52

Cylinders: 4

Warranty: 3 years / 60000 miles

Maximum Speed (mph): 115, 116

NCAP Rating: NCAP 5 Star Rating

Number of Doors: 5, 3

Type: Car

Emissions Class: EU4

CO2 Emissions: 158 g/km - (Man) / 156 g/km - (Auto)

Country of Origin: UK

Range + Engine Type: Astra 1.6 16v, Astra 1.6i, Astra 1.6 8V, Astra 1.6i 16v, Astra 1.6 Automatic, Astra 1.6

Classification: Standard Car

Body Type: Hatchback

Fuel Type: Petrol

Transmission type: 5 Speed Manual; 5 Speed Easytronic Automatic

Power: 105

Available Trims: Club; Design; Elite; Life; SXi, Active, SXi; Design; Club; Elite; Life; SXi Digital, Comfort, SXi, Expression, Club; Envoy; LS; CD

Range: Vauxhall Astra

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 01/12/2005