richard_r... 5

richard_richard

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:15.05.2003

Reviews:71

Members who trust:11

Quote-start

Hey, it's Astra-nomical!

Quote-end
10.07.2003

Advantages:
Performance, spec, reasonable insurance

Disadvantages:
Some think the looks are too conservative

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

9 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. detheridge02
  2. IanRamsden
  3. ampuk2000
and 13 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Please humour me as what I am going to do here is actually a review of the Astra 2.0 SRi 16v, but hopefully you will still find it useful. This is the model I have and Ciao don’t seem to have included it on their list of Astras so I’m sticking it under the 2.2 ok?!! Anyway it is basically the same car as the 2.2, just with an ever so slightly smaller engine.

I purchased my Astra SRi about a year ago. This was from a Vauxhall dealer I found in Slough after doing a used car search on Vauxhall’s very helpful website. I had decided on the Astra as both the Golf GTi and Peugeot 206 GTi had very similar performance as the Astra but much higher insurance groups. (The Astra 2.0 SRi is Group 11).

The price of £11,000 I thought was quite reasonable for a sports model that was just over a year old and only had 8,000 miles on the clock.

I found the staff at the dealership to be very helpful and they even gave me £350 for my rusty old 1991 Metro GTA on a trade in which was nice!

Anyway onto the car…

You get a very decent spec with this model. Firstly you get a nice 2.0 litre, fuel injected, 16v, twin cam engine which develops around 138 bhp. The interior of the car is sensible rather than flashy but is also well equiped. You get a CD player, comfortable and fully adjustable sports seats, air conditioning, electric windows, twin air bags, front fog lights and nice white sports dials on the dashboard. Also there is a neat little switch which allows you to turn on and off the traction control. It gets a bit hairy with the TC off so I tend to keep it switched on!

This model is fitted with alloy wheels, shod with Michelin rubber and all round disk brakes, assisted by ABS and these are very effective at bringing the car to a halt!

How does it drive then? Well compared to the smaller hot hatches I have driven like the Metro GTA and Peugeot 205 GTi, this car feels a lot safer but perhaps the handling is not quite as involved, seeing as how the car is larger and heavier than those previously mentioned models. The acceleration is swift rather than brutal, 60mph is achieved in 8.5 seconds and the car tops out at 135mph.

The engine is smooth and has plenty of torque. However, as with most GTi’s you have to push it above 4,000rpm to get it to really work. Below this level it can tend to be rather too polite.

The ride on this car is slightly harder than normal, seeing as how the suspension has been tuned for the extra performance of the engine. It is still pretty good at absorbing the bumps over rough surfaces though.

I have been impressed with the gearbox on this Astra. It is extremely flexible which makes town driving a doddle. I have driven an Escort 1.8 Si which would complain if you put it in 4th gear at anything around 30mph. The Astra on the other hand is quite happy to be in 4th at this speed, which is good considering at times my gear changing can be rather eccentric!

I have so far driven about 5,000 miles in this car and have found it to be swift and reliable. However, the car can be thirsty for fuel, especially when driven hard. The £10 in petrol I used to throw in my old metro once a week doesn’t last very long in this Astra!! This I guess is the price you pay for the GTi performance and the extra weight added to modern cars by the safety features.

One piece of criticism that has been leveled at the Astra is the styling. Some have complained that is it too conservative and looks too much like the Vectra. I would tend to agree if this criticism is directed at the lower models, but I feel that when in the in the SRi guise, the larger alloy wheels, fog lights and rear spoiler make this is Astra a much more eye catching car!

Seeing as this car could be a target for the joy riders, security is well catered for, with an immobiliser, alarm, deadlocks all fitted as standard.

In conclusion then if you are after a sporty hatchback with GTi performance, then the Astra 2.0 SRi is well worth considering. I am very pleased that I purchased this car and am looking forward to driving it for a few more years. The realistic insurance group means that it is also not going to cost the earth to insure either!!

Thanks for reading!



  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

 

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

ampuk2000 25.03.2004 13:17

Very good review. I prefer the looks of the current astra to the new one with a facelift they will be releasing shortly.

rayliu 10.07.2003 16:21

I agree with you on the styling. Its funny how a bit of kit changes the look of a vehicle. Overall though, it does seem a bit bland and compared to radical styling of the Focus, just seems too conservative. But then again, they said the Golf was staid, and that sold in its bucket fulls. I wouldnt mind getting a cheap SRI though as I use to own a MK2 version and thought they were a lot of fun. Regards, Ray

CareBear 10.07.2003 15:37

mmm, comparing fuel consumption in a Metro's really not fair is it! lol! If you email Ciao they'll create a new category for you so that this can go in it's rightful home. Give me a shout if you need a hand! CBx

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Vauxhall Astra Estate 2.0i 16v Turbo »

1 to 2 out of 2 similar offers for Vauxhall Astra Estate 2.0i 16v Turbo
ATEC Lambda Sensor Diagnostic Probe Post-Cat VAUXHALL ASTRA MK4 +CONVERTIBLE +ESTATE +COUPE 2.0 OPS,2.0 16V TURBO 00-05; VAUXHALL ASTRA MK5 +ESTATE +TWINTOP 2.0 TURBO 2004 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL SPEEDSTER 2.0 TURBO 2003 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL ZAFIRA A 2.0 01-05 +ZAFIRA B 2.0 2005 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL VX220 2.0 i T 01-04

ATEC Lambda Sensor Diagnostic Probe Post-Cat VAUXHALL ASTRA MK4 +CONVERTIBLE +ESTATE +COUPE 2.0 OPS,2.0 16V TURBO 00-05; VAUXHALL ASTRA MK5 +ESTATE +TWINTOP 2.0 TURBO 2004 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL SPEEDSTER 2.0 TURBO 2003 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL ZAFIRA A 2.0 01-05 +ZAFIRA B 2.0 2005 ONWARDS; VAUXHALL VX220 2.0 i T 01-04

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!Non-generic edition - plug corresponding to
the original one!NO UNIVERSAL OXYGEN SENSOR !!!
BRAND NEW

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC Starter motor 1,1KW VAUXHALL ASTRA F 1.8 i,2.0 i 1992-98+ CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL CALIBRA A 2.0 i 1990-97; VAUXHALL FRONTERA A SPORT 2.0 i 1992-95; VAUXHALL KADETT E 1.8 S,1.8 i,2.0 i,2.0 i KAT 1987-91 + CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL OMEGA A 1.8,2.0 1986-94 + CARAVAN; VAUXHALL OMEGA B 2.0 1994-98 + CARAVAN; VECTRA A 1.8 S,2.0,2.0 i,1.8 i KAT,2000/GT 16V 1988-95 + CC; SAAB 9-3 CONVERTIBLE YS3D 2.0 TURBO 2002-03; SAAB 9-5 YS3E 2.3 TURBO 2001-10 + ESTATE YS3E

ATEC Starter motor 1,1KW VAUXHALL ASTRA F 1.8 i,2.0 i 1992-98+ CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL CALIBRA A 2.0 i 1990-97; VAUXHALL FRONTERA A SPORT 2.0 i 1992-95; VAUXHALL KADETT E 1.8 S,1.8 i,2.0 i,2.0 i KAT 1987-91 + CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL OMEGA A 1.8,2.0 1986-94 + CARAVAN; VAUXHALL OMEGA B 2.0 1994-98 + CARAVAN; VECTRA A 1.8 S,2.0,2.0 i,1.8 i KAT,2000/GT 16V 1988-95 + CC; SAAB 9-3 CONVERTIBLE YS3D 2.0 TURBO 2002-03; SAAB 9-5 YS3E 2.3 TURBO 2001-10 + ESTATE YS3E

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!BRAND NEW, no replacement costs, NO NEED to
return your old part.Remember: You will only be
charged shipping costs once per order. Buy two or
more items - save on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Vauxhall present the Astra Design 2.0i 16v Turbo Estate Estate with 6 Speed Manual Gearbox, Front (FWD) running on ...

Product details

Manufacturer Vauxhall
Boot Capacity (litres) 1550
Weight 1462, 1463

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 22/02/2007

Show all Product Information

Review Ratings »

This review of Vauxhall Astra Estate 2.0i 16v Turbo has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. detheridge02
  2. IanRamsden
  3. ampuk2000

and 13 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Vauxhall Astra 1.8i Convertible

Vauxhall Astra 1.8i Convertible

Convertible - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual, 4 Speed Automatic - 1796 cc - Max Speed: 129, 130 mph - 125, 140 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: Sport, Design, Air

User reviews (7)

Buy now for only £ 1,045.12

Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v

Vauxhall Astra 1.6 16v

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Easytronic Automatic, 5 Speed Manual - 1598 cc - Max Speed: 115, 116 mph - 105 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: SXi, Life, Elite, Design, Club, Active, SXi Digital, Comfort, Expression, CD, LS, Envoy

User reviews (55)

Buy Now

Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTi 16v

Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTi 16v

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual, 6 Speed Manual - 1686 cc - Max Speed: 113, 104, 112, 117 mph - 100, 80, 110 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: Life, Elite, Club, SXi, SRi, Design, LS, Envoy

User reviews (21)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Vauxhall Astra Estate 2.0i 16v Turbo? Click here