Very Best of Tina Charles - Tina Charles

Community images

Very Best of Tina Charles - Tina Charles

2 CD(s) - R&B - Label: Summit Records - Distributor: Metronome/Discovery, Plastic Head - Released: 01/11/1996 - 5027626405229

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Very Best of Tina Charles - Tina Charles"

published 27/06/2005 | CMJT
Member since : 31/03/2001
Reviews : 16
Members who trust : 42
About me :
Excellent
Pro Tina singing for you
Cons Tina shouting at you
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"The disco queen"

New version CD cover

New version CD cover

I have never liked the lousy music played in McDonald's restaurants; it's just meant to tell you eat your food and go away! One day surprisingly I heard this lovely remix of 'I Love To Love' playing in a McDonald's. I said to myself, "I want to get this album, I love to get this album, I've got to get this album!"

A week later, I got a brand new album CD 'The Very Best Of Tina Charles' from eBay (for 99p). There are many Tina Charles CDs under different labels in the wild; I was quite lucky to get hold of this CD as it has the version of 'I Love To Love' that I like. The album is actually a new re-recording of the original songs, but it's absolutely not a cheap compilation, and the enhanced sound quality is just superb with Dolby Surround sound. One particular thing I like is the singings of the original songs are all intact without alternation. There are some minor additions and enhancements but not over-the-top modern remixing. Although the songs are typically commercial pop, I just fell for the charm of the 70's disco music, and no one could perform better than the delightful Tina.

Tina Charles was undoubtedly the British disco queen in the 70's. She has the remarkable strong and piercing voice that could be heard miles away! In 1976 when Tina was 22, her 'I Love to Love' made it at number one on the UK chart for the first time, and it sold millions copies worldwide. Later on many of her singles and albums had achieved the Gold Disc status. This CD album covers most of her popular songs in that era.

I managed to find some of the lyrics, and have included the extracts in this review. The number of stars (out of 5) beside the track titles indicates my rating for each song.


1. I Love To Love * * * * *

A lovely love song you love to love, one of my all time favourites.

♪ Oh I love to love
♪ But my baby just loves to dance
♪ He wants to dance
♪ He loves to dance
♪ He's got to dance…


2. Dr Love * * * * *

A great disco hit for the ones who are in need of heart surgery.

♪ Dr Love please come running
♪ Can't you see I'm in pain
♪ You've broken my heart
♪ And you should be ashamed …


3. I'll Go Where The Music Takes Me * * * *

A rather enchanting song with beautiful lyric, I'll go where the music takes me.

♪ I'll go where your music takes me
♪ Where your rhythm makes me
♪ That's where my destiny is gonna be …


4. Dance Little Lady Dance * * * * *

What are you waiting for? Just put on your platform shoes and dance…

♪ Dance, little lady, dance
♪ You know you've only got one chance
♪ So come on
♪ Dance, dance, dance …


5. You Set My Heart On Fire * * * *

Firemen are needed this time.

♪ You set my heart on fire, fire
♪ Fire with the flame of love
♪ Oh you take me higher, higher
♪ than the stars above
♪ Oh pretty baby I'm burning at the flame of love …


6. Love Bug * * * *

Another hit big time, and it's all about that little bug.

♪ I've been bitten by love bug
♪ If you want it our love to last forever
♪ Then I would send my love your way
♪ And my love wouldn't only last forever
♪ But forever and a day …


7. World Of Emotion * * * *

It sounds like Tina is singing in the space, or in the outer space of emotion.

♪ When I wake up in the morning
♪ I can only think of you…
♪ This is world of emotion
♪ Something that was meant to be …


8. This Is The Moment * * * *

A song of Euro-Vision style but you won't hate it.

♪ Baby you know
♪ It's been long time
♪ Maybe you know
♪ This is the moment I've been waiting for …
♪ This is the moment I've been dreaming of …


9. Foundation Of Love * * * *

You'll love the back vocals singing, "Breaking down the wall… Breaking down the wall …"

♪ Don't make me wait for it
♪ Give love a try …
♪ I'm breaking down the wall of heartache
♪ I'm building a foundation of love …


10. Time For A Change Of Heart * * *

Here a rather moody song for a change.

♪ Let's throw away these chains that keep us hanging on
♪ There's nothing left but memories
♪ And they won't stay too long
♪ Oh baby I think it's time for a change of heart …


11. Tina's Medley * * * *

Finally, we have a refreshing remix of I Love To Love, Dance Little Lady Dance and You Set My Heart On Fire all in one pot.


The CD album is a new version under GFS (Going For a Song) label. The inlay has four pages showing artistic photographs of Tina Charles but no lyrics listing. The CD carries a catalogue code GFS540. The standard price is £5.99.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1616 times and was rated at
72% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • susie191 published 14/07/2006
    Great disco queen stuff, a sing along review yay. Susie x
  • STSC published 25/02/2006
    I like her too, fab review.
  • arnoldhenryrufus published 10/11/2005
    showing my age, I used to dance to her music in the late 70's - lyn x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Very Best of Tina Charles - Tina Charles

Manufacturer's product description

2 CD(s) - R&B - Label: Summit Records - Distributor: Metronome/Discovery, Plastic Head - Released: 01/11/1996 - 5027626405229

Product Details

EAN: 5027626405229

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011