WWE - Wrestlemania 20 (DVD)

Community images

WWE - Wrestlemania 20 (DVD)

Features footage from Wrestlemania XX, including the World Heavyweight Championship match between Triple H, Chris Benoit and Shawn Michaels, and the b...

> Show product information

93% positive

9 reviews from the community

Review of "WWE - Wrestlemania 20 (DVD)"

published 30/12/2004 | Craggles84
Member since : 30/03/2001
Reviews : 55
Members who trust : 22
About me :
Excellent
Pro Superb in almost every department
Cons Well..... ummmm..... none really
very helpful
Value for Money

"Where It All Began ....... Again!"

WWE WrestleMania XX (20) was held on March 14th 2004 in New York’s famous Madison Square Garden before a red-hot capacity crowd. There are about three versions of this DVD available I believe and they are event only, 3 disc set and a £49.99 special edition box set but more on those later. For £24.99 I bought the 3 disc and I must say it was the best £25 I’ve ever spent on a wrestling DVD. Anyone who has read my reviews you’ll know I’m wrestling mad but I’ll put this aside and write a neutral review for y’all.

***** Cover *****
The discs come in an unmistakable cover. There is a special box-type sleeve which is coloured black, blue and white and the front cover is dominated by the huge black & white WrestleMania XX logo which is quite hard to miss. The WWE logo is all over the box as well so it shouldn’t be too hard to find. The back cover unfortunately gives away one of the story lines with it’s hype and pictures but it has a general list of the matches and extras with 4 pictures and the logo in the middle once again.

***** Interior Case *****
Slip the 3-disc case out of the box and you’ll find an identical copy of the sleeve box. The difference is that you can fold out this case to find three discs and a slot on the left with a programme of the matches and extras split into disc order. Behind the discs are pictures of the event itself and the outer shell of the case when folded out shows a WrestleMania timeline with pictures charting the history of the event from 1985-2004.

***** Disc 1 (Event Part 1) *****
The show opens with the Harlem Boys Choir singing a wonderful rendition of America The Beautiful in the ring which was mixed with clips of the American troops in Iraq and lots of patriotic scenes. This is followed by an excellent video montage of clips from previous WrestleMania’s and current superstars alike. If nothing else this really got me hyped about the event and is quite good to watch especially for the finale which is, well, nice. Anyway, after the usual pyrotechnic display and the introductions from the announcers we come to the first match;

*WWE United States Title - John Cena v Big Show*
The opening match of any event should set the pace for the rest of the show and this match seriously doesn’t disappoint. It was a huge surprise because I wasn’t expecting such a good, fast paced match from these two but hey, it is WrestleMania. If your planning on watching certain matches only then this should be on your list because it’s a great display of what makes John Cena a great up & comer and Big Show a much more talented veteran than he’s given credit for.
Rating - 8/10

This is followed by a poor backstage segment with The Coach & Eric Bischoff and then an interesting segment with Evolution reminiscing over the build-up to their match with Mick Foley & The Rock which really showcases Randy Orton. Then;

*WWE World Tag Team Championship – La Resistance v The Dudleyz v RVD & Booker T v Mark Jindrak & Garrison Cade*

About as bad as a fatal four-way tag team match could be. This was a last minute match in all honesty which just seemed to be there to have the titles on the show. The highlight of the match is RVD’s best 5 Star Frog Splash in a long time. Not a must see match.

Rating – 5/10

Then we come to a meaningless comedy sketch with the coach looking for the Undertaker and finding the WWE ‘Old Wrinkly Performers’ in a cupboard with each other. Boring, not to mention disgusting. Then we come to;

*Chris Jericho v Christian*
Well hyped as many of this years matches were but this wasn’t anywhere near the stellar effort that Chris Jericho pulled out against Shawn Michaels at WrestleMania 19. It was a top-notch effort for two middle league wrestlers but neither really seemed to go that extra mile and make themselves stand out. All in all it was a decent enough match but it won’t say ‘watch me again’. Made more bearable by the screwjob after the match but I won’t give anything else away.
Rating - 6/10

After this match we have an emotional and highly charged interview with Mick Foley which the Rock joins and adds his own spur of the moment type effect to it and it really is a good watch. Fittingly we cut straight from this into;

Rock n Sock v Evolution
A strange one this. For casual fans, if they still exist, this is a good chance to see the best that the past, present & future have to offer the WWE. Mick Foley, The Rock & Ric Flair make up the past. Batista is the present & Randy Orton is undoubtedly the future of the WWE. The match is a little disjointed but as you would expect from performers of this calibre it doesn’t fail to disappoint. There are no massive back-breaking falls or huge skull cracking chair shots, just good old fashioned action.
Rating - 8/10

Then we have the WWE Hall Of Fame, Class Of 2004 ceremony. This could have and should have been a more impressive ceremony but it’s good to see the stars of the past now and reminisce on their careers. However things go from poor to worse here;

*WWE Playboy Evening Gown Match – Torrie Wilson & Sable v Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie *

Well it wouldn’t be a modern day WWE event without a little T&A and I suppose this sort of thing does appeal to a certain percentage of the audience. I don’t really need to write a match description or anything because it wasn’t much of a match, more a pure T&A show.

Rating – 0/10

For a between matches segments here we get a video with comments from fans before WrestleMania and then a very emotional conversation between Chris Benoit & Eddie Guerrerro which holds significant value for anyone who knows the history between these two and their individual pasts. Then we have;

*WWE Cruiserweight Championship Open*
This match features Chavo Guerrerro (Champion), Jamie Noble, Funaki, Ultimo Dragon, Rey Mysterio, Nunzio, Taijiri, Shannon Moore & Billy Kidman. On paper this should be an awesome match but due to the 1 on 1 only format of the match it really does fail to deliver the awesome cruiserweight action which it should. The highlight is watching Billy Kidman’s awful shooting star press.

Rating – 6/10

*Goldberg v Brock Lesnar (Special Guest Ref – Steve Austin)
Now it really pains me to say this but, this match was by far the worst of the night. The build up and hype began way back at the Survivor Series and continued at the Royal Rumble and No Way Out pay-per-views but then it all seemed to die and Goldberg was hardly on TV leading up to WrestleMania and the match was hyped around an angle between Austin & Lesnar. The match itself was slow, sloppy and poorly planned and was honestly not worth the time. If you really must then I’d say watch the post-match celebrations for a laugh. If not skip it or go and make a cup of tea.
Rating - 4/10

Following the post-match shenanigans we are shown a mightily impressive fireworks display taking place on top of Madison Square Garden to announce the venue of WrestleMania 21. This is followed by a short promo video for the event and then a very honest and candid live speech by Vince McMahon in which he thanks the fans for their support and to say thank you to all the WWE fans. The disc ends with;

*WWE Tag Team Championship – Rikishi & Scotty 2 Hotty v The Worlds Greatest Tag Team v The APA v The Basham Brothers*

Anyone who has watched wrestling in the past few months will know that this match should not have even been on the event. Why it was is still beyond me because it was nothing more than a 6 minute, yes 6 minute, filler match and a card of the magnitude of WrestleMania shouldn’t have those. Saying that, it does highlight one of the last appearances of Bradshaw before he changed to his JBL character and it shows how impressive at selling their moves Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin are. Me personally, I took the disc out and moved onto disc 2 before this match begun.

Rating – 2/10

***** Disc 2 (Event Part 2 & Extras) *****
Disc 2 contains 4 event matches and 1 pre-event match in the extras. It also has some scenes from the behind-the-scenes WWE show ‘Confidential’, 4 pre-match comments from wrestlers and 8 post-match comments as well as fan feedback. Also, a WWE ‘Byte This’ (on-line interview radio show) interview with Eddie Guerrerro and 6 TV promotional videos for WrestleMania XX.

If you choose to ‘play all’ and continue watching the event in it’s entirety you’ll begin with a totally boring and missable segment with Jesse ‘The Body’ Ventura interviewing Donald Trump at ringside which I’d advise skipping. This is followed by;

*WWE Women’s Championship – Molly Holly v Victoria*
Molly Holly challenged Victoria to this match and somewhere along the lines a ‘loser gets their head shaved’ stipulation was added by Steve Austin. As far as the women’s division goes this match isn’t too bad. I highly rate Victoria and Molly Holly is widely acknowledged as one of the best female wrestlers in the business. The crowd are a let down for this match but with the three biggest matches of the night following it’s no surprise. The crowd are into the post match head-shaving but unfortunately the finish of the match is quite cheap and ruins the whole match.
Rating – 4/10

*WWE Championship Match – Eddie Guerrerro v Kurt Angle*
These two guys went into this match with a huge weight of anticipation on their shoulders to deliver. Being two of the greatest wrestlers alive today it’s easy to see why. Kurt Angle played his heel role perfectly in the build-up to this match but Eddie Guerrerro was mis-handled and made to look stupid which weakened their feud. However, come the night the two did manage to deliver in a top-notch 22 minute match which delivered a lot, maybe a little too much mat based wrestling. Maybe if this match had happened a year or two earlier in the main event this would have been the scorcher it should have been but it just lacked that something to make it a classic.
Rating – 8/10

*Kane v The Undertaker*
I cannot be neutral on this match because this is the reason I bought this DVD. I am a huge Undertaker fan and have been waiting for him to return under his ‘Deadman’ gimmick for a good 2 and a half years now. This feud began way back in November 2003 when Kane interfered in a ‘buried alive’ match between Taker and Vince McMahon and buried taker alive. The first ‘dong’ of Undertakers entrance bells was heard at Januarys Royal Rumble and strange, pyrotechnic based goings on occurred to Kane right up to the Raw prior to WrestleMania. Any Undertaker fan will tell you they have been waiting for this moment for a long time and when Undertaker finally returned he did not fail to disappoint with his entrance or ending. The match was sluggish and very disjointed but something just makes up for it and if like me you get that tingle in your body when Taker returns, you’ll agree.
Rating – 7/10

*World Heavyweight Championship – Triple H v Shawn Michaels v Chris Benoit*
Triple H & Shawn Michaels had been feuding on and off over the title for months and when Chris Benoit won the Royal Rumble he moved to Raw and was set to challenge Triple H for the title at WrestleMania until Shawn Michaels was thrown into the mix. Steve Austin made the match a triple-threat match and the hype continued. My honest opinion of the match ….. one of the best matches I’ve ever seen and easily the best WWE match in two years. Everything you ask a wrestling match to be this was it. Tables breaking, near-falls, brawling outside, one on one action and just about anything you want. If I could rate this over 10 believe me I would.
Rating 10/10

The event itself finishes with an excellently edited and produced WrestleMania 20 re-cap video which cannot be explained properly, it just needs to be watched.

Not only does this disc have the three best matches of the event on it the extras are excellent as well. The WWE Confidential feature on the Rock n Sock connection is brilliant for fans and non-fans alike because it gives a brief history of the duo with great comments from Mick Foley & The Rock on their impact as a team. The NYC press conference isn’t anything special but if your bored then give it a go.

The pre-match comments come from Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Molly Holly & Mean Gene Okerlund and are all rubbish and boring so honestly, don’t bother with them.

The extra match comes from Sunday Night Heat the week before WrestleMania and is The Dudleyz v Lance Storm & Val Venis for entry into the Raw tag title four team match at Mania. 3/10 and not worth wasting time on.

Post-match comments are by John Cena, RVD & Booker T, Mick Foley, Big Show, Christian, Chavo Guerrerro Jr & Sr, Superstar Billy Graham, Molly Holly & WWE Fans. Unlike the pre-match comments most of these are worth a browse if your scanning the whole DVD. Mick Foleys is quite honest which is nice to hear as is John Cena’s so give them a look but your not missing anything if you don’t.

The Eddie Guerrerro interviews are a good insight into his feelings and opinions but aren’t anything special and the same can be said for the TV promo vids but, for the hardcore know-all, see-all fan like myself you have to watch them.

***** Disc 3 (Extras & Special Features) *****
In my opinion this disc, well one part of this disc, makes this whole DVD worthwhile. Split into four sections this disc is packed full of bonus features and extras. Once you’ve clicked on the special features screen when the disc loads you are presented with four options to choose from.

The first of these is ‘The Mania Of WrestleMania’. This special 44 minute long behind-the-scenes documentary of WrestleMania 19 is the highlight of the DVD. When I first watched this I couldn’t believe how candid some of the wrestlers are about their experiences at the time. There are interviews and full segments with and about The Undertaker, The Rock, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Kurt Angle, Brock Lesnar & Shawn Michaels. The most revealing of these is the Steve Austin part. Being told about the personal and physical turmoil Austin was in going into his match with The Rock. It also has Austin speaking of his in-ring retirement, Brock Lesnar talking of his nerves.

I believe this was shown in the US shortly after WrestleMania 19 as a Pay-Per-View special for US fans and it achieved quite a high buy-rate which is understandable once you’ve sat down and watched it. Weirdly, they’ve added the scenes which have been deleted from the special as an extra for you to watch and I can’t quite understand why they deleted them. There are three and they cover the Triple H v Booker T match, The Hulk Hogan v Vince McMahon match & a look at Jesse Ventura doing the voice-over.

The second of the choices is ‘WrestleMania’s Ten Greatest Matches Ever’. I’m sure this was shown on US cable television the Saturday before WrestleMania XX. I’ll say it now that this special has one huge downfall….. It’s presented by Ric Flair but, that aside the matches featured are all excellent, even if I and many others don’t agree with the selections. At 43 minutes long there are no full length matches but there is a huge collection of the main happenings from all the WrestleMania’s over the past 20 years. The list of matches is as follows;
10 – Kurt Angle v Chris Benoit (WrestleMania X-7)
9 – Hulk Hogan v The Ultimate Warrior (WrestleMania 6)
8 – Shawn Michaels with Mike Tyson v Steve Austin (WrestleMania 14)
7 – Hulk Hogan & Mr T v Roddy Piper & Paul Orndorff (WrestleMania 1)
6 – Bret Hart v Steve Austin (WrestleMania 13)
5 – The Rock v Hollywood Hulk Hogan (WrestleMania X-8)
4 – Ricky Steamboat v Randy Savage (WrestleMania 3)
3 – Razor Ramon v Shawn Michaels ( WrestleMania 10)
2 – Hardyz v Dudleyz v Edge & Christian (WrestleMania 16/2000)
1 – Bret Hart v Shawn Michaels (WrestleMania 12)

The third section is the WrestleMania gallery. This contains results, photos, facts and information on WrestleMania’s 1-19. Each section has a picture which is basically the DVD/VHS cover of the event and on the top right of the screen has the venue and date of the event, i.e. WrestleMania X-8, Toronto Skydome, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, March 17 2002. In the bottom left is the east to navigate selection buttons for any of the three options or to return to the main gallery. The photo’s are great because some are at strange angles and the facts are an interesting read at the least i.e. WrestleMania 16 is the only WrestleMania ever not to feature a traditional one on one match.

The final choice is the trivia section which does seem a little sad to play I know but it’s hilarious when you get started because once you’ve answered the questions you’ll get a short snippet of a WWE employee ranging from commentators, Divas, retired and superstars about your answer, the funniest being either Al Snow’s or Spike Dudleys.

Although it doesn’t seem like a great deal on paper, especially not for a wrestling fan, I would encourage anyone to either buy or borrow this DVD just for these extras. Although it can seem tedious due to the lack of backing music the contents make it all worth while.

***** Hidden Extras *****
This comes courtesy of a www.dogpile.com search for DVD easter eggs.
Disc 2;
Andre the Giant vs. Big John Studd;
On Main Menu, down arrow once on "Extras"
Hogan Slams Andre;
Go to Extras page 1; left click 3 times on "Mean Gene Okerlund"
Shawn Enters;
Go to Chapters page; right click twice on "Triple H vs Shawn Michaels vs Chris Benoit"
Shane/Vince Garbage Can Spot;
Go to Extras page 4; left click twice on "TV Promos:Wrestlemania XX"
Disc 3
Razor Ramon Beats Shawn Michaels;
After Special Features main page, go to "The Mania of Wrestlemania"; then left click once on "The prodigal son has returned"
Rock v Hogan;
After Special Features main page, left click twice on "Trivia"
Steph Gets Pedigreed;
After Special Features main page, go to "Wrestlemania Gallery"; go to "X8" gallery page; left click once on "Facts"
Brock Misses Shooting Star Press;
After Special Features main page, go to "Wrestlemania Gallery"; go to "XIX" gallery page; left click once on "Results"

***** Overall *****
Overall this was an amazing purchase for only £24.99 and now it’s even cheaper to buy I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in wrestling, even those who only know a few people. Why, well because it’s WrestleMania. Ok so it’s 9 months old but, it still provides the basic incentive to tune in to a current WWE program and see what’s happening. On the whole the show was a blistering performance as you would expect from the 20th anniversary show and like most shows it does have some weak links but the advent of DVD has saved us from the torture of those. In my opinion, the extras and bonus material on the disc more than makes up for these matches. The one downside to this event and many WWE programs of late is that they are aimed at the 18-30 audience and aren’t really suitable for family viewing. Some of the material is but I would recommend parents pre-view this show if they intend on letting their children watch.

***** Misc *****
Wrestlemania XX 3-Disc DVD - £21.99

Wrestlemania XX Limited Edition Boxset – Only 6,000 with 3-disc DVD, Wrestlemania XX Poster, 6 Wrestlemania XX Prints, Wrestlemania XX Badge, Laminated Wrestlemania XX Ticket & a 35mm film cell of the event - £49.99

Wrestlemania XX 52 Page Program - £7.99

Wrestlemania XX VHS - £10.99

All of the above are available from www.silvervision.co.uk

Thanks for reading & let me know if I’ve slipped up anywhere ;p
Cheers, Craig.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1664 times and was rated at
64% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • KidMuscle published 17/02/2006
    top notch review!
  • n13roy published 11/02/2005
    Really Well Written Review with loads of info in there, not my cup of tea really, but good on you....Roy
  • Marshwwf316 published 02/02/2005
    Fantastic review. Exceptional. WMXX was a good show with a brilliant main event.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : WWE - Wrestlemania 20 (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Features footage from Wrestlemania XX, including the World Heavyweight Championship match between Triple H, Chris Benoit and Shawn Michaels, and the battle for the WWE Championship title between Kurt Angle and Eddie Guerrero. Features seven matches in total.

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 23/12/2004