Wake the Sleeper - Uriah Heep

Community images

Wake the Sleeper - Uriah Heep

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Sanctuary - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 09/06/2008 - 602517670273

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Wake the Sleeper - Uriah Heep"

published 06/07/2008 | BigCS
Member since : 10/11/2007
Reviews : 24
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Excellent
Pro Superb return to form
Cons None whatsoever
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"10 years wait, but well worth it!"

Uriah Heep will be 40 years old next year.... and this is one 40 year old where the old "life begins at" cliche holds true. They've just released this, their first studio album in 10 years (after a run of live albums). Was it worth the wait? You better believe it! This album holds up very very well in comparison to the classic Heep of the early 70's, and the then rejuvenated early 80's line up. This is possibly the best album they've made since 1982's Abominog, and maybe even the best since that early 70's heyday.

Soundwise, all the hallmarks of a great Heep album are there, the huge hammond organ sound, Mick Box's fantastic mastery of the guitar and wah-wah pedal (how many bands use one of those nowadays?), the multi-layered harmony vocals, and of course the main vocal performance itself. Singer Bernie Shaw has now been with the band since 1985, and I'd say this is his best set of vocals yet... his voice has deepened a tad with age so it sounds more resonant, more powerful, just, well, better than it has in the past.

The tracks start with the manic rocking opening title track which pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album! From then on it's a mixture of out and out classic style Heep rockers interspersed with the usual lighter moments that Heep have always done so well. Final track War Child is possibly the best song they've done since 1971's epic July Morning!

Make no bones about it, this is one of the best rock releases of the year, if not the decade! If you're an old Heep fan and are dithering about whether or not to buy this... get moving - it's a beauty of an album, incredibly well written, performed and produced. I've listened to it a dozen times in thelast week and can't wipe the grin off my face - it's that good! Roll on the tour!

Track listing

1. Wake The Sleeper
2. Overload
3. Tears Of The World
4. Light Of A Thousand Stars
5. Heaven's Rain
6. Book Of Lies
7. What Kind Of God
8. Ghost Of The Ocean
9. Angels Walk With You
10. Shadow
11. War Child

Community evaluation

This review was read 1916 times and was rated at
75% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • RPB1968 published 03/02/2010
    Great review! 'Sea Of Light' has to be in there in the years between 'Sleeper' and 'Abominog' though.
  • n13roy published 09/07/2008
    Good Grief......Uriah Heep, now THATS a blast from the past, I can tell you. Didn't know they were still going. I actually bought their VERY first album, on actual VINYL ( remember them ) a LONG time ago, called " Very Eavy, Very Umble " Saw them live a few times too !!!!..........Roy.....
  • manlybeach published 06/07/2008
    I haven't heard July Morning for years! It was one of my favourites. Good review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Wake the Sleeper - Uriah Heep

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Sanctuary - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 09/06/2008 - 602517670273

Product Details

EAN: 602517670273

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 17/05/2008