Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Community images

Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Universal International, Geffen - Distributor: Proper Note, Universal Music - Released: 09/07/2001 - 6...

> Show product information

82% positive

8 reviews from the community

Review of "Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer"

published 28/05/2001 | Heather_D
Member since : 06/05/2001
Reviews : 18
Members who trust : 14
About me :
Super
Pro its weezer! the sublime "Photograph" and "Island in the Sun"
Cons Its not as good as blue or pinkerton, a bit commercial,
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Weezer are Back"

Weezer- The Green Album

I havn’t attempted an album review yet – and I’ve realised that it is very difficult.

*Who are Weezer?*
Rivers Cuomo (vocals and guitar) and Brian Bell (drums) along with errr, a bassist (Mikey Welsh since 1997) and a guitarist (Brian Bell since they got signed by Geffen in late 1992) formed Weezer in 1992. In 1994 the released an eponymous album, often referred to as the ‘Blue Album’ including the number 12 UK Chart hit ‘Buddy Holly’. 1996 saw the release of Pinkerton. For 5 years, all was quiet on the Weezer front but now the coolest nerds in the world are back with the somewhat confusingly also eponymous 3rd LP, referred to as ‘The Green Album’

Weezer are one of those bands who have been putting out great music for years (1992 to be exact) yet their distinctive brand of punk rock – I’d call it ‘emo nerdcore’ or ‘geek rock’- has been largely ignored in England. Not for much longer – this album will be a hit who has even the vaguest inkling towards punk, rock or pop tendencies, however die hard Weezer fans will be disappointed by the ‘Green Album’- its good, but after 5 years of waiting, not good enough.

*The Green Album*

Weezer may not have spent their entire 5 year hiatus creating this album, but apparently Rivers did write over 300 songs during this time. Once they got to Cello Studios, LA in December 2000, 20 songs were recorded. .

The 10 tracks of the ‘Green Album’s’ 30minutes and 24 seconds are pure pop punk-rock -some are great summer anthems (“Photograph”, “Island in the Sun”, “Knockdown-Dragout”), some are classic Weezer melodies i.e. “Don’t let go” (complete with mandatory ‘oooooo-woah-woah’ chorus), the beautiful “O Girlfriend” in which we finally get to hear Rivers actually singing and “Crab”. “Hash Pipe” is the first single to be taken from the album, putting ‘anxious and paranoid’ into musical form and having a hilarious video on MTV2/Kerrang TV. Cuomo’s ability to make anybody, in almost any situation (well, me at least) think ‘That’s my song! Man I know what you’re going through!’ still shines through, although this album is no where near as personal as the heart wrenching ‘Pinkerton’, apart from the depressingly true closing track ‘I do’

The songs that have appeared seem to be pandering to the ‘new school’ (nu-skool?-I dunno, im only 17 and I feel old when it comes to music sometimes!)of kiddypunk. Major grievances come in the form of the commerciality and lack of personality of this album. Further annoyance is caused by the lack of 'spontaneous' high pitched warblings from Rivers and also the guitar solos- once a defining moment of the song, now just mirroring what has just been sung. BORING! Otherwise, its a good album, one of the best we'll see this summer- just not up to the high standards the band are obviously capable of.

*Track List and Info*
1. ~Don’t let go~
2. ~Photograph~
3. ~Hash pipe~
4. ~Island in the sun~
5. ~Crab~
6. ~Knock-down Drag-out~
7. ~Smile~
8. ~Simple Pages~
9. ~Glorius Day~
10. ~O Girlfriend~
11. ~I Do~ (UK special edition CD only)

Released May 14th 2001
Label Geffen
Producer Ric Ocasek

Community evaluation

This review was read 600 times and was rated at
97% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Greenday published 31/08/2002
    I thought you started really well, but i've only given H because you didn't review each track seperately. Adam.
  • jefferson published 16/07/2001
    Hope the exams went well! I have the 2 previous albums but the songs I've heard off this so far haven't been *that* convincing... Cheers for the nice review :) Great first try!
  • adsalamon published 30/06/2001
    nice review..... :-)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Universal International, Geffen - Distributor: Proper Note, Universal Music - Released: 09/07/2001 - 606949306120

Product Details

EAN: 606949306120

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011