Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Community images

Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Universal International, Geffen - Distributor: Proper Note, Universal Music - Released: 09/07/2001 - 6...

> Show product information

82% positive

8 reviews from the community

Review of "Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer"

published 14/07/2001 | Straymuffin
Member since : 14/07/2001
Reviews : 14
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro Weezer - new and improved. Back at last.
Cons Not the longest album ever recorded.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Weezer - The Green Album"

Weezer, where have they been?

I remember them from back in the mid-nineties when everyone went mad for "Buddy Holly". And that's probably how, after five years away from the music scene, most people remember Weezer (the Buddy Holly guys).
But now they're back with (almost) the original line up. Rivers Cuomo - the high singing frontman, Patrick Wilson on drums, Brian Bell on guitar and the new guy, Mikey Welsh replacing Matt Sharp on bass.

So how ahs the music changed since the last release five years ago? Well in some respects it hasn't.
Their music is still unmistakably Weezer. Yes you still get the occasional oooeeoow in the chorus (if you take those away it just wouldn't be Weezer would it?). But they have gone so much further since those days. The Green Album shows that they should never have been away for so long and that they are still a great band.

The opening track "Don't let go" eases you in with traditional Weezer style. "Hash Pipe" is the first track to be released from the album and a mighty fine song it is too! This is the kind of song that you can't get out of your head. Driving guitar with the great vocals and lyrics of Coumo make this one of the best songs on the album. OK, some of the tracks aren't as good as you would hope but they are still all decent songs. My only major dissapointment is the length of the album, a measly 30 minutes! I'm sure after a five year gap they could have made a few more songs, or at least songs over 3 minutes long. But thats just me being picky. As they say, quality is better than quantity.

This could be the start of a new era for Weezer. Recovering from such a long absence can be tricky for any band, but if Weezer can continue to produce tracks such as Hash Pipe then they can certainly pull it off.

Weezer - The Green Album

1. Don’t let go
2. Photograph
3. Hash pipe
4. Island in the sun
5. Crab
6. Knock-down Drag-out
7. Smile
8. Simple Pages
9. Glorius Day
10. O Girlfriend


Community evaluation

This review was read 788 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • zippyngeorge published 13/10/2001
    good opinion! i love weezer! i havent got any of their albums yet because ive only just been introduced to them but im definately getting the green album,and maybe pinkerton..and 10 tracks is definately to short by miles! anyway...good luck with your ops-laura
  • LICARUS published 15/07/2001
    Welcome to Ciao, a good first opinion, look forward to reading more from you. Emm
  • davidbuttery published 15/07/2001
    I must say, I know nothing about Weezer, but even so this is a very good first op. Good start!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Weezer (Green Album) - Weezer

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Universal International, Geffen - Distributor: Proper Note, Universal Music - Released: 09/07/2001 - 606949306120

Product Details

EAN: 606949306120

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011