When Love Comes - Calvin Richardson

Community images

When Love Comes - Calvin Richardson

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Shanachie Records, Shanachie - Distributor: Proper - Released: 09/06/2008 - 16351577320

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "When Love Comes - Calvin Richardson"

published 03/07/2015 | jcneil
Member since : 16/07/2004
Reviews : 563
Members who trust : 51
About me :
Hi everyone, I am 30 and I mostly write music reviews on here, I also do the odd fragrance review. I used to write on dooyoo but have switched to writing on just ciao now. I will be trying to write a couple of reviews every two days.
Super
Pro vocals, ballads
Cons Not quite the finished article
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Calvin's love"

**When Love Comes**

The follow up to 2003's 2:35PM, When Love Comes is the third album from Calvin Richardson, It was released in 2008. He released his Debut album Country Boy in 1999 and therefore you would probably expect him to have released more than three albums to date. When Love Comes was released on Shanachie Records and continues the run of different record companies for each album he has released.

1.) Intro

This short intro to When Love Comes opens the album with some smooth vocals and an answer phone message which plays in the background.

2.) Sexy Love

This is a funky fast paced hip hop style track which has a superb flow and is so catchy. This is one of the best uptempo tracks I have heard from Calvin Richardson and shows that he's not just about soulful ballads.

3.) Holla at you

This is another uptempo track but it's more of a ballad feel than the previous uptempo track. This does not have the same spark as the best tracks on the album but's it's far from a bad track.

4.) Fire in the attic

This is a sexy soulful seductive track which is great for late nights with the light down low. It reminds me a little of Musiq Soulchild as it has the same kind of neo soul style.

5.) Please you Baby

This track has a flowing hook which reminds me a little of Blackstreet's most popular material. A catchy track that has some great hooks and a great urban feel. One of the better uptempo tracks on the album.

6.) She's Hurtin

This is a gentle track about knowing a woman has been hurt in a previous relationship. This is a track which has a great taut beat and some smooth seductive vocals from Calvin Richardson. This is one of the best tracks on the album and one of his best of his career. A great track.

7.) Nobody Loves You

This is a lovely ballad which flows very well and is one of the best ballads on the album, His vocals are a great feature of his music and this song in particular. A very assured vocal performance is the highlight of this track as it sharpens up the overall emotive feel of the track.

8.) Give It to me

This is one of the weaker tracks on the album, It's not a bad track but has a slightly too dated early 90's feel and does not have the same spark as some of the best tracks on the album. A decent enough offering however.

9.) Don't Go

This is a lovely gentle ballad which showcases his great vocals perfectly and this really is a fine ballad about wanting to save a relationship when your partner is about to leave you. A very good track indeed.

10.) Sang No More

This is a very soulful ballad about going through bad times. His vocal delivery really shines on this track as it flows through each verse and the chorus. His voice is backed up very well by the fine instrumentation. I particularly like the soulful guitar tones which have their own 70's Soul feel.

11.) Make Friends With Love

This is one of the best tracks on the album and has an old school soul feel of someone like Sam Cooke. This showcases Calvin Richardson's expressive vocals to good effect and this is a really pleasing ballad which is very well performed and an overall very polished effort.

12.) Daddy To My Kids

This is a smooth ballad about how he feels as a father, His previous album 2:35PM was named after the time his first child was born. His vocals are emotive and this is a really good track.

13.) When Love Comes

This is the title track and it's also the final track on the album, This is not a great track as it does not really get going the right way and at less than three minutes does not have enough time to get better. A decent enough closer but could have been better.

**Overall**

On summing up I would have to say that this is not quite his best album so far but some of the tracks have something about them, For a more consistent album look elsewhere at Country Boy or 2:35PM but listen to this album as there are a couple of tracks which are as good as anything he has done before. Have a listen and give your own verdict.

Taken from my review on dooyoo.

Community evaluation

This review was read 279 times and was rated at
92% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Secre published 06/07/2015
    Nice
  • MsTricia published 05/07/2015
    excellent
  • LiveMusicLoverLyn published 05/07/2015
    Great :)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : When Love Comes - Calvin Richardson

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Shanachie Records, Shanachie - Distributor: Proper - Released: 09/06/2008 - 16351577320

Product Details

EAN: 16351577320

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011