Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

Community images

Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Def Jam, Mercury - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 18/06/2008, 15/09/2008 - 4988005517821, 602517749849

> Show product information

82% positive

8 reviews from the community

Review of "Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo"

published 20/10/2009 | jmarlene
Member since : 18/05/2009
Reviews : 40
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro couple of really good mind blowing tracks, very catchy lyrics and memorizing songs to match
Cons a few not so good mind blowing tracks that don't stand out as much
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo"

Ne-Yo has certainly come along way in his music career because at the tender age of just 28 the singer/songwriter has had great success within the music industry what with having 3 successful albums under his belt and writing music for some other artists such as Rhianna and Beyonce. Year of the Gentleman is Ne-Yo's 3rd album which was recorded in 2007-2008 the album was then released in September 2008. IT received considerable amount of commercial success and sales and is still doing well in the charts at present.

I have been a big fan of ne-yo and his music for as long as I can remember and have bought all of his albums. I think that the year of the gentleman is a nice album as he never lets his fans down by putting in a lot of effort and creativity into this album and you can easily tell by his songs and by the album cover and title that he has grown up quite a lot compared to when he first started making music a few years back. He has certainly come along way indeed. Each track on the album is very catchy and different from the rest most stand out vocally, with some great steady beats and good up-tempo and mid tempo lyrics.

The first track on the album closer is a nice slow paced song that you could listen to just about anywhere with some catchy beats and steady cool seductive lyrics to match. The second track miss independent which has been a big hit and received lots of airtime play is my top favorite track from the album as it's very cleverly put together with some great catchy lines that are smooth, edgy and nice to sing and dance along to. The music video is very nice to with some great dancing and ne-yo looks very nicely dressed while trying to impress the women at work. This is definitely a track that grew on me straight away.

Tracks 3 and 4, mad and nobody are pleasant songs as they have funky vibes and authentic sounding of the base with some cool rythmic beats. The tracks are not what I call mind blowing but it's worth a good listen to with some catchy lyrics to match. Tracks 5 and 6, single and why does she stay are very nice slow tracks as they are smooth with romantic lyrics to match and both cheered me up because being a single person my self I could relate to the tunes which gave me a sense of joyment.

The other tracks on the album are not the best of tracks to listen to but each of the songs do cater for a variety of preferences and have good rthymic beats and are calm and soothing to the listening ear. But I feel that the songs aren't really mind blowing nor as catchy or memorable compared to the other tracks mentioned above but all are worthy of a good listen to.

Overall not a bad album as there are quite a few nice tracks that stand out more than others however this is by no means the perfect album but its definitely a worthy buy, that I would highly recommend buying as it can cater for many age groups.

Community evaluation

This review was read 556 times and was rated at
89% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • catsholiday published 20/10/2009
    Not heard of these at all
  • rosebud2001 published 20/10/2009
    My daughter has this album and I have really liked what I have heard - he has a brilliant voice and he is an incredibly gifted songwriter too.
  • colliedog2 published 20/10/2009
    Nice review.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Def Jam, Mercury - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 18/06/2008, 15/09/2008 - 4988005517821, 602517749849

Product Details

EAN: 4988005517821, 602517749849

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011