Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

Community images

Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Def Jam, Mercury - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 18/06/2008, 15/09/2008 - 4988005517821, 602517749849

> Show product information

82% positive

8 reviews from the community

Review of "Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo"

published 24/11/2012 | dbuk2000
Member since : 25/07/2008
Reviews : 215
Members who trust : 13
About me :
Not sure why people comment just to say 'not for me' or 'will give this a miss'. Hardly contributing to the review or helping out future readers looking to purchase the item.
Super
Pro Very Good Tracks
Cons No Standouts
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"The Year of Neyo"

Ne-yo made his name writing tracks for the biggest artists around, but the track that really got him his big deal was Let Me Love You that he wrote for Mario which became a mega hit. Soon after he was recording his debut album, and well the rest is history.

My favourite R&B artist of the last ten years is easily Usher, as he just has it all, can dance, and has an awesome voice, but Ne-yo is definitely up there, and is one of my favourites. The Year of The Gentleman is his third and in some ways his most accomplished amble, however I still feel Ne-Yo has his really big album yet to come, which he hasnt achieved yet in any of these three albums.

There are many quality tracks on this album and to start with there is Closer which is a great track to kick of the album with. He has gone for a faster paced song than his usual stuff here. It is good, but he is yet to master this style of faster paced tracks, and there hopefully will come a point where he can bang out the big summer tunes just like the biggest artists in the game.

The rest of the tunes are mainly ballads or just generally slow paced tunes which Ne-yo can nail with his eyes closed. My personal highlights include Mad, Miss Independent and Back To What You Know but their are really no weak tracks in this album.

The problem like I mentioned before that is their doesnt seem to be many stand out tracks, and since his debut that put him onto the scene with So Sick he has kind of stayed on the same plane. Apparantly he has a greatest hits album coming out soon, which should be interesting, as he has so many good tunes, it will be hard to choose the greatest to make up an album.

Community evaluation

This review was read 389 times and was rated at
67% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • mozzie76 published 25/11/2012
    You need to add more details
  • dbuk2000 published 25/11/2012
    Well its not an amazing review, however at least I dont create many accounts and rate my numerous poor reviews as exceptional.
  • legobricker published 25/11/2012
    Not a very good review sorry
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Year of the Gentleman - Ne-Yo

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Def Jam, Mercury - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 18/06/2008, 15/09/2008 - 4988005517821, 602517749849

Product Details

EAN: 4988005517821, 602517749849

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011