Zorbing - Stornoway (Single)

Community images

Zorbing - Stornoway (Single)

Single Track from Stornoway - Genre: Alternative - Release Year: 2010

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Zorbing - Stornoway (Single)"

published 06/09/2010 | duskmaiden
Member since : 28/03/2003
Reviews : 358
Members who trust : 219
About me :
I am back as Mrs Duskmaiden
Super
Pro happy folky
Cons not for everyone
very helpful
Originality
Quality of Lyrics/Music
How does it compare to the artist's other releases?

"Lying in your attic I can feel your static"


ZORBING An extreme sport where people roll down a hill in a big plastic ball like a hamster in a wheel .

Or a single by Oxford based indie folksters Stornoway from, their debut album “Beachcomber's Window”. Stornoway bar Mull Historical Society seem to be the only band eve to be named after a
a place in the Hebrides. Zorbing was their first single released in 2009 and then released May 2010. it also the first track on their album and is a cracking introduction to the band.

Zorbing is very much a quirky chirpy little love song that really puts a smile on my face. Its twee and winsome bit it is also rather wonderful. What I particularly love is lead singer Brian Brigg's vocal on this track. Its fantastically pure , lilting and lucid almost in a choir boy way without the high pitchedness. Mixed in with the choir boy there's a lovely comforting slight country burr. The deeper backing vocals increase the choral effect.

Musically it starts off quite starkly with just a plucked bass letting Brigg';s voice shine out. After the firs verse and chorus the other instruments join in turning the bounciness up a notch with a jaunty little trumpet lick and tambourine and bells. It really is exhilarating and puts a smile on my face and a spring in my step. I am wondering if this is how actual Zorbing feels like.


Stornoway mange to rhyme static with attic in Zorbing which is rather splendid but it also has some vivid imagery. Musically it may feel summery but lyrically its autumn, I

“Conkers shining on the ground,
The air is cooler
And I feel like I just started uni ,

With these lyrics one can almost feel the falling leaves swishing beneath your feet. I'm also wondering why he wants his senses orbiting over my territory of South East London. The lyrics do seem to o off on a a flight of whimsy which is rather endearing.

If you like your indie gentle and tuneful, a bit twee with a hint of folk you are in for a treat. Fans of bands such as Bombay Bicycle Club, Mummford and Sons or even Belle and Sebastian or Camera Obscura really should give Stornoway's “Zorbing” a try

Community evaluation

This review was read 570 times and was rated at
93% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • greenierexyboy published 09/09/2010
    The mention of B&S (or even the Mull Historical Society...they were alright too) means I may take a gander.
  • KarenUK published 08/09/2010
    Not heard of this at all.
  • Silverback published 07/09/2010
    Mrs S plays these all the time - I can see the appeal but am yet to be convinced that they're anything really special. Paul
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Zorbing - Stornoway (Single)

Manufacturer's product description

Single Track from Stornoway - Genre: Alternative - Release Year: 2010

Product Details

Artist(s): Stornoway

Title: Zorbing

Release Date: 24/05/2010

Genre: Alternative

Rights: 2010 4AD

Release Year: 2010

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 13/08/2010