AuctionArms.com Vs Gunbroker
Advantages Customer Service That Cares
Disadvantages Less Sophisticated Lay-out
Author's newest reviews
|
04/06/2007
AuctionArms.com Vs Gunbroker |
|---|
The intent of this report is not to point fingers and make accusations, rather, it is to point out certain facts that have been discovered and ask questions. Should the reader draw conclusions from this article, the conclusion must be only the conclusion of that reader. I am not a legal expert on cyberspace laws, I am only a cyberspace user. This report is compiled using sources readily available on the internet regarding gunbroker.com and Gunbroker Holding, Inc. The address of Gunbroker Holdings, Inc. is:
Gunbroker Holdings, Inc:And the phone number is:
404-806-1188This information was obtained at the following government site(s):
http://www.copyright.gov/onlinesp/agents/gbhldgs.pdfhttp:// www.copyright.gov/
Prior to continuing, it should be established whether or not an internet domain name can be protected by copyright laws. For the answer to this, I would direct you to the following:http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/faq-protect.html
"Can I copyright my domain name?The site is commonly known as gunbroker.com. However, as indicated by the document at http://www.copyright.gov/onlinesp/agents/gbhldgs.pdf they have several domain names of interest. There are several domains listed on the document that are used as re-directs to the gunbroker site. The site http://www.robtex.com/dns/gunbroker.com.html was very useful in establishing those sites that re-direct the individual to the gunbroker site. It will be noted that if a person were to type into their computer browser any of the following names, they will be re-directed to the gunbroker site:
guns-america.com (note, not gunsamerica.com)gunsandammo.com (note, not gunsandammomag.com)
gunsandammoauctions.com (again, not gunsandammomagauctions.com)NRAAuctions.com (No relation to the NRA, actually, auctionarms.com has exclusive NRA auctions, according to http://www.auctionarms.com/search/NRAAuctions.cfm )
Aguns.net (not aguns.com, an antique gun auction site)gunsclassifieds.com (not gunclassified.com)
greatwesterngunshow.com. The "Great Western Gun Show" details may be found as follows, with no apparent connection to gunbroker.comhttp://www.nrawinningteam.com/greatwestern/
The forgoing are just examples of the many, many different re-directs that will get you to the gunbroker web site if typed into your browser. I have no idea why gunbroker would care to make a re-direct to their site when greatwesterngunshow.com is typed into an internet user's browser. I am somewhat interested in why. But really, I have little clue as to why domains such as nomancy.com are so important that gunbroker would care to make it a re-direct to the gunbroker site. All I could suggest is, this raises the question, why would gunbroker be using so many re-directs to their site, re-directs that closely resemble the names of other well known web sites or organizations? Well, maybe I have a suspicion.Here, I must make some conjecture. There are a few reasons why a web site would have this fashion and number of domain names linked to their site. One reason would be to give the false impression that they are somehow affiliated with the site whose name they mimic. One reason would be to increase the traffic to their site via inadvertent misspellings by internet users. A potential reason might be that search engines will recognize their site whenever an internet user goes looking for the site whose name has been copied. There may be other reasons, and I would not care to speculate exactly why gunbroker has felt it necessary to link all these different domain names (some of which are clearly derivatives of other sites) to their site. Perhaps there are other valid reasons why a web site would do this. If so, I would like to hear them.
There are some rather curious phenomenon that have continued to develop with the rising use of the internet. Cyberpirating and cybersquatting have been such growing issues that laws are now in place that would seem to discourage the practices, yet, they continue. Information on cyberpirates, cybersquatters, and the laws surrounding them can be found on the following two sites:http://www.mirickoconnell.com/images/library/98.html
"NSI continued Dr. Postel's policy but almost as soon as the Net was opened to commercial traffic, trademark disputes arose. The most egregious cases in these early days involved "cybersquatting" and "cyberpiracy." Cybersquatting generally referred to an individual who registered domain names identical to well-known marks in an attempt to resell it to the mark owner at a significant profit. See Panavision International, L.P. v. Toeppen. Cyberpirates are those who register the same or confusingly similar domain name in an attempt to lure traffic intended for the mark owner away to pirate's web site. In the absence of legislative definition, these terms are used interchangeably."
http://searchwebservices.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,s id26_gci213900,00.html
As I have previously indicated, I am no expert on cyberlaw. It would be inappropriate for me to draw an expert conclusion as to the real reason gunbroker would use such domain names as re-directs to their web site, or why they would attempt to protect them in a veiled copyright document. I am willing to listen to any logical explanations as gunbroker administration or others would see worthwhile to bring forth. Until such time, I will let the reader draw whatever conclusions could be drawn from the forgoing facts.
Attention, this is the first review from this author
Instead of giving a negative rating, consider:

Help this member by giving your advice

Report fraud (for example plagiarism) or other issue with the review to the Ciao support team
Add your comment
TheHairyGodmother 09/06/2007 23:53
Allyalcock 05/06/2007 03:24
wingnut888 04/06/2007 13:01
great review
kineticspade 04/06/2007 11:27
textmad 04/06/2007 09:51