holidayautos.com

Community images

holidayautos.com

> Show product information

32% positive

51 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "holidayautos.com"

published 06/07/2011 | baeswoman
Member since : 03/09/2002
Reviews : 104
Members who trust : 32
About me :
Not for me
Pro Nice car shame about unexpected charges
Cons Rip off Eupoean partner
helpful
Type of car rented
Available selection
Customer Service
Vehicle Quality
Value for Money

"Just try to get your money back!!!"

holidayautos.com

holidayautos.com

I rented a car for use in Italy through Holiday Autos to be picked up from Europcar at Lamezia Airport on 11.05.2011.
The car was duly collected and my credit card details were left with Europcar.
The car was returned in perfect working order on 18.05.2011.
The service recieved at the desk on collection and on return was faultless.
The car itself, a little Fiat, drove well and was just right for our needs.
On arrival home I recieved an invoice from Europcar saying I didn't owe them anything, so imagine my surprise when I discovered that Europcar had taken nearly £300 from my credit card.
I immediately contacted Holiday Autos to find out what was going on. The initial phone call cost me 10p a minute. It was a long call too.
My email sent recieved a reply on 26th June saying that they would look into my complaint and that a member of their customer relations team would get in touch with me within 21 days - I'm still waiting.
I sent all relevent documentation to them by post,recorded delivery,I recieved no acknowledgement that it had been recieved.
This morning I recieved a second invoice from Europcar entirely in Italian asking for 327.35 euros, from my very sketchy italian I gather that it was for damage to brakes???
We drove the car over 100 miles on the return to the airport with no problems at all and we most certainly would have noticed if there was anything wrong.

I have just had another expensive phone call to holiday autos although on this occasion they were good enough to ring me back. I am now going to scan and email the latest invoice to them. I will update this review to let you know how things progress
Update 8.07.2011
Have recieved a phone call from Holiday Autos assuring me that they are looking into the matter.My bankon the other hand have disputed my original payment to Holiday Autos not the transaction with Europcar which was what I was disputing.

Update 21.07.2011
RESULT
I have recieved an email from Holiday Autos as follows:
Thank you for taking your time to contact Holiday Autos concerning your booking in Italy with Europcar.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the delay in responding to your query and take this opportunity to thank you for your patience whilst investigating your case with our supplier.

Having studied your correspondence to my colleague, Katarzyna Durkacz, I am sorry to learn that your credit card was charged by our partner for the damage of the vehicle. I also understand that you selected our Total Damage Excess Waiver product at the time of booking which enables our customers to claim the charges applied due to the damage of the vehicle back from Holiday Autos upon return.

Having been in contact with Europcar to investigate the matter, they have advised that the amount of 327.25 Euro has been charged for the damage caused to the brakes system of the vehicle.

In light of the above information, please kindly note that I have now processed the amount of 298 GBP, which equates 327.25 Euro, to your car details used at the time of booking and it should appear on your bank statement as cleared funds within 5-10 working days depending on your bank’s clearing times.

Please, be advised for your future reference that if the mechanical damage of the vehicle is incurred during your rental, our partner might not be able to confirm it at the time of returning the vehicle if it is not a visible one and the formal inspection of the car takes place at the workshop after the rental.

I hope my response has clarified your concerns; if I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

What I want to know is how I could have driven the car for over 100 miles with damaged brakes.
Perhaps it should be avoid Europcar!
UPDATE 2,08.2011
I am still waiting for the promised refund but I have been sent 2 copies of the original transaction with Holiday Autos by email.
My bank's clearing times with other transactions is very fast!

Community evaluation

This review was read 1529 times and was rated at
93% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • Coloneljohn published 15/07/2011
    Sounds a bit odd to me. John
  • RICHADA published 07/07/2011
    Great to see you making a reappearance here, only sad to read that it is under such circumstances.......nice car though - latest model Panda! R. xxx
  • killiefan published 06/07/2011
    One to avoid then!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Product Information : holidayautos.com

Manufacturer's product description

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 12/07/2001