holidayautos.com

Community images

holidayautos.com

> Show product information

32% positive

50 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "holidayautos.com"

published 28/07/2014 | Misled
Member since : 28/07/2014
Reviews : 1
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Not for me
Pro None
Cons Car high mileage (85,000 kms) in poor condition
helpful
Type of car rented
Available selection
Customer Service
Vehicle Quality
Value for Money

"My worst car rental experience"

On 28th January 2014, I contracted to rent a car from Firefly Car Rental in Rome through Holiday Autos, for 18 days from the 13th to the 31st of May 2014.

In the past I have used Holiday Autos and always found them competitive and the cars of a high standard. Firefly is way off the airport and the car they supplied was high mileage (85,000 kms,)and in poor condition.

On the 27th of May, the car stalled and wouldn’t re-start, we were immobile in a restricted area. I phoned the “road assistance” number given on the rental agreement and they said they would send help. While we were waiting, the police arrived and insisted we must leave, as we were blocking an area used for parking busses, which were due to arrive. The police started the car with jump leads and told us to leave the area without stopping, as the car wouldn’t re-start. So we drove back to our accommodation. On the way I phoned the road assistance to explain what had happened and that I would phone again later.

It was late when we arrived back, so I phoned them the next morning. They said they would send help. I expected them to bring a replacement car, but a man came alone in a low loader. He took the car away, saying he could not help with a replacement car and that we must talk to Firefly. That started a series of calls to Firefly and Road Assistance, each one insisting it was the responsibility of the other party. Finally Firefly admitted they had to replace the car. First they said that there was a car for us at Perugia airport and that I must phone them to arrange delivery. I phoned them and they said they had no available cars. Then they said there was a car at Hetrz in Orvietto, same thing happened. Next they offered a car at Ciampino Airport. By this time it was late afternoon (on the 28th) and of course we had no way of getting there.

So that was one and a half days ruined already. I decided there was no way I was going to spend the next day (the 29th) going to Ciampino, with the possibility that there would be no car available there either. If I had collected a car on the 29th, that would have been another day ruined and then we would have a car for one day (the 30th), with the prospect of driving back the next day (the 31st) to the airport to drop the car off. So we decided not to take the chance of going to Ciampino and finding no car there either.

So our party of three adults and one child, lost 4 and a half days use of a car and we had to take the train (3 hours) to the airport.

I have written to Firefly and Holiday Autos a month ago and have had no reply whatsoever.

MY ADVICE: STEER WELL CLEAR OF FIREFLY AND HOLIDAY AUTOS.

Community evaluation

This review was read 711 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • Silveryew published 20/01/2017
    Helpful review but oh dear:S
  • Scotlass712 published 29/07/2014
    What an awful experience!! Karma is a wonderful thing, lol. Thanks for sharing :-)
  • ladyofflame published 29/07/2014
    Unacceptable run-a-round, I hate companies that fob you off from one hand to another due to their lack of inter-communication or laziness/cost cutting and then expect you to do the arrangements wasting your time/money/patience on top of it.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Product Information : holidayautos.com

Manufacturer's product description

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 12/07/2001